• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Larissa Ione is visiting today

 

desire-unchained-final

Larissa, Thanks for agreeing to be a guest on my blog. Thank you for having me!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Well, I’m a full-time writer and stay-at-home mom, an animal lover to the extreme, and a Coast Guard wife.  I started writing as a kid, but didn’t get serious until a few years ago, when I got out of the Air Force and was working in weather stations where I was all by myself, and during good weather, bored.  I decided to use the good weather shifts effectively, and I got back into writing.  I sold my first story to Red Sage in 2006, followed by a sale to Bantam Dell (with Sydney Croft writing partner Stephanie Tyler,) and then a sale to Samhain and finally, Warner Books, which is now Grand Central Publishing.

How long have you been writing?

Since I could hold a crayon!  Seriously, I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t writing stories.  I started out writing Jack London-ish tales of wolves in the wilderness (completing my first full-length novel at the age of 13,) and then graduated to horror stories when I made a leap to Stephen King.

What is your writing process like?

It’s hard to nail down, mainly because I write every book with a different process.  Some books start with the character, some with a plot.  Some books I plot heavily, others I wing.  I’m really hoping that one of these days I get a process figured out!

Can you tell us about your latest release Desire Unchained?

Well, it’s the second book in the Demonica series, which is set in and around an underworld hospital.  Here’s the blurb from the back of the book:

Runa Wagner never meant to fall in love with the sexy stranger who seemed to know her every deepest desire. But she couldn’t resist the unbelievable passion that burned between them, a passion that died when she discovered his betrayal and found herself forever changed. Now, determined to make Shade pay for the transformation that haunts her, Runa searches for him, only to be taken prisoner by his darkest enemy.

A Seminus demon with a love-curse that threatens him with eternal torment, Shade hoped he’d seen the last of Runa and her irresistible charm. But when he wakes up in a dank dungeon chained next to an enraged and mysteriously powerful Runa, he realizes that her effect on him is more dangerous than ever. As their captor casts a spell that bonds them as lifemates, Shade and Runa must fight for their lives and their hearts-or succumb to a madman’s evil plans.

 Will you have any more books in this series?

Passion Unleashed, which is Wraith’s book, releases next month.  After that, there will be at least two more full-length books, and maybe a short story or two.

Do you have any other books coming out this year?

Passion Unleashed, and Taming The Fire, which is a Sydney Croft title, and will release May 1.

What are you currently working on?

I JUST turned in Demonica book 4 and ACRO (Sydney Croft) book 5, so now I’m working on the proposal for ACRO book 6 and a short story for the Mammoth Book of Vampire Romance 2: Love Bites.

Where do you get your ideas for your books? 

Everywhere!  Sometimes they come from real life – from the news, for example.  And other times, I get them while watching TV or movies.  The Demonica series, for example, came from the TV show Angel, when the lead character, Angel, was injured and needed medical care.  As a trained EMT, I have a fascination with emergency medicine, and I also have a love of the paranormal, so I instantly made the connection…vampire in need of medical care…ooh!  There needs to be an underworld hospital!  A place run by demons, vamps, and werewolves, where other creatures of the night can go for care.  And the Demonica series was born!

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I read everything I can get my hands on!  But my favorite reads, in addition to romance, include a lot of fantasy and historical fiction.  I’ll buy anything Robert Jordan has written, as well as Sharon Kay Penman, and George R. Martin.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

Oh, geez, my keeper shelves are bowing from the weight!  Pretty much every book from the authors already mentioned, and my newest additions include Acheron, by Sherrilyn Kenyon, House of Dark Delights, by Louisa Burton, and World Without End, by Ken Follett.

Do you read books other than romance books?

Absolutely.  Romance books do make up about 75% of my reading, but I read widely.  I find, though, that while I’m writing, I NEED to read romance, otherwise my writing veers toward straight fiction and I lose the romance.  Probably has something to do with my horror and fantasy roots!

What was the first romance book you read?  

My first was a historical…I can remember the plot vividly, but for some reason, the author escapes me!  Grr.  Because I’d LOVE to read that book again!  But the very first contemporary was Mackenzie’s Mission, by Linda Howard, and that cemented my love of romance.

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would you like to see as the lead characters?

Ooh, that’s a tough one. I’ll have to go with Pleasure Unbound, tho.  As far as actors…hmm.  Maybe Summer Glau as Tayla and Oded Fehr or as Eidolon.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

Either Tayla from Pleasure Unbound – because how fun would it be to kick demon ass and then come home to a sexy incubus doctor?  Or maybe Kira from Unleashing The Storm, the second Sydney Croft novel.  I’m a huge animal lover, and she can communicate with animals, and I think I’d love that.  Plus, she gets to sleep with Ender. *drools*

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I’m a big movie buff, so I love to watch movies.  I also enjoy bowling, horseback riding, and computer games of the Dungeons and Dragons variety.

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be?

When you are at the bookstore, not looking for anything specific but just seeing what catches your eye…are you drawn to fat, meaty-looking reads, or do the thinner, shorter novels appeal to you?  Personally, for me, the fatter the better in most cases, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t read some great shorter books!

***Leave a comment for a chance to win a copy of Desire Unchained *** 

You can find out more about Larissa and her books at: http://www.larissaione.com

54 Responses

  1. Good morning Larissa,

    book covers are the first thing that catch my interested and than I read the blurb. For me it doesn’t matter how thick or thin the books are, although I really to read long stories.

  2. Great interview! I prefer the thicker books, too. I usually buy the short stories in ebook 🙂

  3. I loved your first demonica book!!!
    And I can’t wait for Wraith’s book to hit the shelves… He really appeals to me!!

  4. I love big books. Usually the shorter books ended before I starting to enjoy them.

    BTW, I really look forward to Desire Unchained.

  5. Hey Larissa!
    How is writing for an on-line publisher like Samhain different then writing for print like Grand Central?

  6. Hey Larissa :),

    I think a cover catches my eye before the thickness does. I don’t think it matters. If it’s something I think I’ll like I get it :).

    Love your Sydney Croft books and am really looking forward to Desire Unchained!

    Oh and I like Katiebabs question.

  7. Morning, Danny! I have to admit, I’m a cover junkie too! If I see a great cover, I jump on it. I’m especially partial to blue covers.

    Lillie, that’s a good idea to buy the shorter ones as ebooks!

    Thank you, Ingeborg! I’m looking forward to Wraith’s book hitting the shelves. That boy is special to me. 🙂

    May, that’s how I am too! I definitely go for the fatter books and series, because I love to get into a world and stay there for a while.

    Hey Katiebabs! Good question…I think the major difference is the way revisions, copyedits, and galleys are done. With Samhain, everything was done online. With GCP/Bantam, you get hard copies you have to go through and then send back. It’s a lengthier process, but honestly, I prefer getting the galleys in print form. For some reason, I just catch more on hard copies. Doing copyedits on the computer would be nice though!

  8. Thanks, Amy! I thought Katiebabs’s question was a good one too!

  9. I prefer a stonking fat door stopper of a book – that’s not to say it would necessarily be a better read than a skinny one – it just seems to promise more as it sits there on the shelf! 😀

  10. Great interview. I usually go for the bigger books. I loved Pleasure Unbound and I am looking forward to reading Desire Unchained.

  11. Hi Larissa and Greta!

    Wonderful interview. 🙂

    As to your question, I love, love browsing in bookstores, as to what draws my eye? It just depends on my mood, I love poetry and there is a fairly good poetry section in the large book store I frequent.

    If I’ve been reading a lot of emotional heavier romance then I tend to be drawn to a lighter contemp. Sometimes I enjoy an urban fantasy or horror novel with a lot of nail biting fear and suspence in the plot for a change. Kat Richardson and Raven Hart are two of my favorites.

    Please don’t enter me in the contest, I already have your book on order Larissa and am so looking forward to the read.

    Always enjoy chatting with you.
    Have a great week. 🙂
    L

  12. I usually go for the thicker books, but a really great title or cover is generally one of t first things I notice.

  13. It depends on my mood. Most of the time I am looking for a nice long read, but I do like a good Harlequin/Silhouette now and then.

    I am counting down to Desire Unchained and Passion Unleashed.

  14. Enjoyed reading about you and your books on Greta’s web site. Keep up your exciting work!

  15. Great interview, ladies!

    You have such eclectic taste in authors. Ken Follett’s The Key to Rebecca is one of my favorites.

  16. I’ve been waiting for this one as I enjoyed the first. I usually don’t care about the thickness of the book. I usually go for my auto-buys first and I’m always looking for new authors to read. So sometimes covers catch my eye.

  17. Hi! Great interview! I loved PU and I can’t wait until I can find Desire Unchained in the stores!

    I’ll read just about anything, but I am totally drawn to the big, thick, sink your teeth into kind of books. Then there are days when I need a reading fix and will grap something short and snappy 🙂

  18. Hey Larissa! I have to go with the big fat meaty read but….my eyes are getting a bit old so tiny fonts don’t work for me like they used to. I think this is why I gravitate toward trade paperback!

  19. i just finished this book last night! AMAZING! I ❤ Shade. I’m beginning book 3, Passion Unleashed, today. I’m excited to see how Wraith controls himself!

    Awesome reads.

  20. I love reading paranormal/urban fantasy stories that are well fleshed out, which I tend to get in the bigger books.

  21. Hey Larissa,

    I love your interview. I swear everyone I read makes me more anxious to read your books. I tell myself to stop doing it but I can’t help it….LOL! This can’t be good for my health but then again the good things aren’t.

    I have a question….can you tell us who is the hero and heroine of your fourth Demonica book?

  22. I have to say I’m definitely a visual person. Usually dark, fantasy type of book covers are the first thing that attract my eyes. Then the size of the book especially if I’m trying to decided which book to buy. The bigger the better, because bigger means the read will last longer!

    Great interview! Thanks for sharing.

  23. I’ve always said the bigger and longer the better. Loving this series. And cannot wait for Wraith’s book. But first we get to see Shade get what he deserves.

  24. Great interview. I loved Pleasure Unbound. I thought it was so different from other paranormals, and I read alot of them as that is my favorite genre. Looking forward to the next books.

  25. What a tempting cover, love the deep red and black colors!

    When looking at the bookstore / library, I tend to like books that aren’t huge or tiny but in the middle, you know like Goldilocks. LOL

    Deidre

  26. Wow–I went grocery shopping and this place exploded! 🙂 Thanks to everyone who stopped by!

    Jessica — squee!!! I’m so glad you liked Desire Unchained!!!! But now I’m biting my nails knowing you’re reading Passion Unleashed!

    Taleka, I swear I’m not trying to be a tease…but if I say who the hero of book 4 is, it’ll be a spoiler for book 3. You will meet the hero in book 3, though! The heroine will be someone new to the world! 🙂

  27. Usually fatter ones because I feel the author has a chance to develop the story and characters more, but I’m not picky I’ve read plenty of awesome thin books as well

  28. Hi Larissa,

    Terrific interview. I absolutely loved Pleasure Unbound and can hardly wait to get Desire Unchained!

    I don’t live close to any book store so I shop online for my books. I think that’s why the cover catches my eye first, then I read the blurb and/or reviews. The number of pages don’t matter as long as the story is good! 🙂

  29. Hi Larissa!!

    I’m so excited that Desire Unchained is almost here!! 🙂

    Great interview! I love big fat books! Like most everyone else has said I like knowing that an author can really develope a story…the more pages the more developed (usually!!LOL). 🙂

  30. Wow, Larissa,
    That looks so great. It was really lovely chatting with you on Armed Forces Day. You are always so interesting!

    Rowena Cherry
    Space Snark

  31. I love bigger books. The thicker the better. 🙂

    I am looking forward to the next Sydney Croft book and looking forward to Desire Unchained. 🙂 Love the cover of Desire Unchained by the way. 🙂

  32. Great interview! What kind of book I’m drawn to depends on what kind of mood I’m in and what I’ve read recently. If I’ve just read something that was nice and thick, I’m usually in the mood to get something I can read quickly and look for a thinner paperback to enjoy. The opposite is true as well. So, I like to go back and forth between them.

  33. Hello. Great post. I havent had the pleasure of reading your books yet but I have to say Desire Unchained looks to be amazing. ‘
    When I go to the book store I usually have a specific book or author in mind. But if I do get the rare occasion to be able just to browse I have a tendancy to go for authors that I have heard about or read about on blogs. I dont think it really matters on the size of the book, its the quality that matter. ( Wow why does that sound so cli⋅ché  :)) Have a great day and thank you so much for posting here today.

  34. I typically browse online and buy in person. So size has no part in my initial purchasing decisions. I’m looking at genre/topic, author, title, that sort of thing.

  35. Thank you for the interview! This book is definitely on my to buy list! I loved Pleasure Unbound!

  36. Hi Larissa! Wonderful interview! The first thing that catches my eye when I’m browsing through books is the cover. Then I check out the blurb on the back cover. How thick the book is doesn’t really matter to me.

    I’m looking forward to reading Desire Unchained. Awesome cover by the way!

  37. Great interview Larissa!!!

    I have to say the cover is the first thing that draws my eye, but I prefer to grab thicker books. I never want them to end 🙂 I cannot wait for next Tuesday, can’t get here soon enough!!!!

  38. Great interview Larissa!

    The cover is the first thing that catches my eye and then I check out the plotline on the back cover or front cover. The thickness of the book doesn’t matter to me.

  39. Hi Larissa and Greta~

    I am reading Riding the Storm right now and LOVING it!

    For me, I prefer a book with a little bit more to it, but I have definitely read some great shorter stories too.

    I would love to be entered.

  40. Hi Larissa! I usually go for the longer books. There’s more to enjoy! But I have read some great shorter books, too.

  41. Hi Larissa and Greta, thanks for the interview! As for reads, I would love a thicker one – as much as possible so that I don’t have to stop reading about the characters.

  42. […] won, congratulations!!!! If you didn’t, thank you for entering! (And you can always head over to Greta’s blog for a shot at a copy of Desire […]

  43. Hi Larissa,

    Great interview. I haven’t read your work yet, but it sounds good!

    First, I look for books by my favorite authors and the length of their books doesn’t matter to me. Covers will attract me to new-to-me authors and for those I’ve never read before, a book length of 300-375 pages is a good read. It’s been my experience that books of over 400 pages tend to be a bit tiring, unless it’s a book written by one of my favorites.

  44. Hi Larissa!

    I mostly look at the blurb to see if it’s something interesting, i don’t pay that much attention to size. But when it comes to my favorite authors, the fatter the book, the happier I am!

    I’m soo looking forward to Desire Unchained!!!

  45. I want it now! I want it now! I want it now! Less than a month to go and it’s KILLING me!

  46. Hi Larissa! I absolutely loved the first book in the series and I only have one more thing to say: OH PLEASE PICK ME! I MUST HAVE DESIRE UNCHAINED NOW! Okay, I’m done now ** LOL **. Great interview and Greta thanks for holding the contest.

  47. sounds great thanks for the giveaway

  48. *waving* Thanks again to everyone who has come by!!! It’s fantastic to see you all! I swear, whenever I guest blog anywhere, I’m always terrified that no one will show up and I’ll feel like the girl at the school dance no one will dance with!

    I’m so flattered and humbled that y’all took the time to read the interview and reply. Thank you!!!!

  49. Great interview!
    Thanks for the giveaway!
    kimspam66(at)yahoo(dot)com

  50. I would love to read this.

    Thanks so much

  51. haha… Larissa, you don’t need to worry that no one is going to come visit! I’m blog-stalking you! >_<!!

    I’m in London at the moment and unfortunately I couldn’t bring your book with me and make it the sixth country it’s visited! (Blast those strict budget airline baggage allowances!)

    Great interview! Is it difficult to keep it fresh as you’ve been doing quite a few interviews recently? Kudos to the interviewer as well! It must be hard to figure out questions that no one has really asked yet!

  52. I loved Pleasure Unbound and cannot wait to read the rest of the series. It’s really good to have a fresh voice and something new and unique in this genre.

  53. LOL-Krystle! I’m SOOOO jealous that you’re in London! OMG, I LOVE England!

    And yeah, keeping it fresh can be a challenge, but it’s great when you have someone like Greta asking different questions!

  54. Great Intereview! I would love to be enter in a chance to win one of your books!

    When I go into a book store, covers usually catch my eye first. I also like the fatter books. But small ones are always a pleasure too!

Leave a Reply

