• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please Welcome Terry Spear

destiny2

Terry, Thanks for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

Greta, thanks so much for asking me! I’m really honored! J

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

My dad once said to write about what you know…and at the time I thought, but I don’t have anything exciting that I know of to write about. He did. We swear he had nine lives and more, that a guardian angel watched over him for years.  But in truth, we all have interesting tidbits to share about our lives.

For one, I was one of the first women to be enrolled in the Army ROTC two-year program and was a Distinguished Military Graduate (DMG). I ended up at the summer basic camp where on the last night of the camp, the ROTC guys knocked down the temporary partition dividing our third floor barracks from theirs (1st year for women, so everything was thrown together quickly…latrines had men urinals L) and the guys stood naked in front of a bunch of giggling, goggle-eyed college girls. Until the female drill sergeants chased after the naked guys and bodily dragged them back to put the wall in place. J

Another little known fact about me: I love to ride horses, but am afraid to death of them, while my great grandfather actually broke horses for the soldiers in WWI, and my dad joined the Army Calvary in WWII, just so he could ride into battle. Only, he was assigned to cleaning out the stalls. The horses had already shipped out to the Burma campaign. And at the rank Dad was, he would have been running behind them anyway, no waving a saber into battle for him. J

And I rappelled from high towers, buildings, and cliffs, and was afraid to death of heights. J  

So, I guess that’s why I write the kind of heroines I do…even if something terrifies them, they face up to the challenge. J

How long have you been writing?

Since I was a kid. J 

What is your writing process like?

I used to just jump in with a scene and begin writing. Then I realized that sometimes that got me into trouble…long rewrites. So I began a process of determining what the hero and hero want that’s essential to the story, what motivates them to want this so badly, and how they meet. After that, the story just progresses. I definitely don’t plot out my stories. My son was listening to me talk about this one day and he wondered if his favorite fantasy writers did the same thing! They might! Everyone has a different process.

Can you tell us about your latest release Destiny of the Wolf?When I wrote Heart of the Wolf, it was a love triangle/reunion type story. We see some pack dynamics for two packs that have corrupt pack leaders, but in Destiny of the Wolf, the story centers on a wolf pack that actually runs a town, and for the most part, they do a great job, so much so that other werewolf packs are interested in doing the same thing in their locations. But still, to the rest of the populace, they don’t exist, so they have to guard their secret well. I love suspense, romance, adventure, so all the wolf tales have a lot of each.

Will you have any more books in this series?

Temptation of the Wolf will be coming in the Fall. The hero is having trouble keeping his pack in line, but when he meets the heroine, his world becomes even more turned upside down.  The Legend of the White Wolf is coming also, and in this one, I show an Arctic werewolf pack, and the problems the hero gets into when he tries to locate his missing friends and the heroine, when she tries to learn why her father went mad.

The art department is working on the covers for the next two books and I can’t wait to see them! J

Do you have any other books coming out this year?

Deidre’s Secret, a Young Adult psychic, and Deadly Liaisons, a long awaited vampire romantic suspense, both coming out this March. Years ago I wrote Killing the Bloodlust, and then wrote three more adult vampire romantic suspenses. One has been requested by Grand Central Publishing. The other has made it 8 weeks in the First Line Contest so far. Last year, Destiny of the Wolf made it 10 weeks. J

What are you currently working on?

Plight of the Wolf. That and Night of the Wolf. I flip back and forth when I get stuck. J I want to get started on The Vampire…In My Nightmares as a sequel to The Vampire…In My Dreams also. I’ve had several fans email they want to see a sequel, same characters this time.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

From snippets of stories I’ve read, headlines in the news, past classics that I’ve always loved.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I love historicals, time travels, paranormal romantic suspense, mythologies, true life stories. I love everything that Leslie Lafoy writes and I loved Karen Moning’s Immortal Highlander. J Joy Nash’s Celtic Fire is one of my favorites also.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

The ones I listed above. J There are others…I have a ton of books on my shelves…I loved Elizabeth Knighton’s Fulk, the Reluctant, but I couldn’t find any more of her books.

Do you read books other than romance books?

True stories, historical fiction, fantasy.

What was the first romance book you read?

Cinderella, Beauty and the Beast, Rapunzel, The Glass Mountain, tons more! J Really, those were the first romance books for me…knights in shining armor, princes who would come to rescue the princess from harm. To me they epitomized true love.

My first shapeshifter romance book?  East of the Sun and West of the Moon” is the Norwegian version of an old Scandinavian fairy tale about a man who is a bear during the day and a handsome prince at night who loves the fair maiden. Oh, and yeah, The Frog Prince.

My first adult romance? I was thirteen and my girlfriend’s sister who was ten year’s older and a librarian, gave her Tender Loving Care and Coffee, Tea, or Me to read and she passed them along to me, which I also read in secret. LOL.  They were silly and sexy. But I didn’t read anything like that again for many years. Too busy with working on a masters degree, completing military training, and then raising a family. So it wasn’t until I began writing ten years ago that I fell in love with romance novels. J

J       

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

I loved Brad Pitt in Interview with a Vampire, and Troy and Mr. and Mrs. Smith. I think he’d make a pretty tempting werewolf. J For the heroine? She’d have to be a redhead, since the first two wolf tales are about red wolf females.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

My heroines. I mean, they have lots of stuff to deal with—don’t we all?—but at least they have someone really hunky to take care of them when need be. J

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I used to love to hike in the woods in Oregon…now you know why I set a couple of my wolf tales there, but I also love to landscape. So I’ve been planting trees, shrubs and groundcovers in my spare time. Lots of bulbs too. The hyacinths are just peeking out of the bark mulch now. J

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

What makes a book memorable to you? The plot? The characters? The setting? What makes you come away from falling into a writer’s world and wishing you could read on and on and on? Okay, that was more than one question, but curious minds have a need to know. J

Thanks so much for having me, Greta! J

Hope everyone takes a peek at my works at http://www.terryspear.com/. Thanks again!

And I’d be happy to send today’s winner any copy of the books currently available in stock: Heart of the Wolf, Destiny of the Wolf, Winning the Highlander’s Heart, or The Vampire…In My Dreams, your choice. J Thanks for dropping by.

Buy Link for Destiny of the Wolf:

http://www.amazon.com/Destiny-Wolf-Terry-Spear/dp/1402216688

41 Responses

  1. Survived 88 mph winds last night! Hope everyone is safe from storms today!

  2. Terry,

    You’re right. Our own stories often seem pedestrian to us–because we plodded through them one step at a time. But viewed by others, they are fascinating windows on our world.

    Right now I’m wondering, how do you ride horses (and love it) if you’re afraid of them?

  3. Hey, Terry – loved hearing about your phobias – but for the life of me, I can’t figure out how you can like horseback riding but be scared of horses. 🙂 But from the sound of it, you don’t have time to do anything but write anyway!

  4. I never thought of The Frog Prince as being a shapeshifter romance story! So true!!

    Great interview!

  5. I must say, these are my kind of heroines

    “And I rappelled from high towers, buildings, and cliffs, and was afraid to death of heights. J

    So, I guess that’s why I write the kind of heroines I do…even if something terrifies them, they face up to the challenge. ”

    Should a reader read Heart of the Wolf before Destiny of the Wolf?
    Thanks for the great interview!

  6. Hi Terry. Great interview. Love the cover to Destiny of the Wolf. For me, what makes a book memorable is the characters.

  7. Hi Natasha, and thanks! You don’t have to read Heart of the Wolf before Destiny of the Wolf…they’re both stand alone titles set in the same world, but the mystery red wolf in Heart of the Wolf will be in the next 3 stories. 🙂 And Temptation of the Wolf scheduled to come out in the fall, the hero from Heart of the Wolf makes a cameo appearance, so it’s best to read Heart of the Wolf before Temptation of the Wolf. 🙂

    Thanks, Crystal. Darien’s a hunk on the cover! One of my co-workers said he looked just like that. Not. LOL Yeah, characters stay with me forever. 🙂

  8. Hi Terry:

    You da woman, Terry! Wow! What a great life you’ve led! To answer your last question, most of the time it’s the characters that make the book memorable to me, plot not so much, EXCEPT for mysteries in which the plot is everything.

    Amy V.

  9. I can guarantee that Terry’s characters and story are memorable and amazing! I am almost done with Heart of the Wolf and it is as fantastic as my daughter claimed. Bring on Destiny! Excellent interview Terry!

  10. Hi Terry

    You said leave a message.. 🙂

    I’ve been intrigued about these books since you mentioned them at Embrace the Shadows.. I’m definitely planning to pick up these books when my budget gives me a bit of wiggle room.

    The characters and the world of wolves you created sound wonderful and almost realistic in their own way.

    Hugs and luck!!

  11. What a fun interview, Terry! I don’t know how you can do it but you have got to put that barracks fiasco into one of your books. What a visual! VBG, What makes a book memorable to me? Hands down, the characters. The plot can be absolutely mesmerizing but if the characters aren’t engaging then I rarely finish the book. Give me a brooding hero any day (and a tenacious heroine that chisels away at his icy heart). *G*

  12. I’m always drawn into a story by the characters. A good plot is nice and action helps move it along, but it still boils down to wanting to know more about the people (to me at least). How they react to the action and the conflict. Your books look awesome, Terry! Oh, and Brad Pitt…wow. He would he make a hot werewolf!

  13. I would have to say it always comes down to the heroine for me. I know, I know…heroes are important and I’ve fallen in love with many, but it’s the heroine that pulls me into the story…or not. I want to walk in her shoes. I want to feel her pain and her triumph and that moment when sparks fly for the first time!

    I want her to be so real to me that I laugh when she laughs and cry when she cries and root for her like crazy from page one.

    Of course, a hot hero for her to love is icing on the cake!
    Barbara~

  14. Hi Terry. That was a great interview. I can’t wait to read Destiny of the Wolf and also looking forward to Deadly Liasons!

  15. Very interesting interview! What makes a book memorable to me as a reader? Yes to plot, characters, and setting. Obviously the blurb and excerpt have to indicate all of those things interest me in order for me to purchase the book.

    Once I sit down to read, it’s all about the writing style. I love writing that flows with no jarring notes. I love an author who can make me laugh or cry or elicit whatever emotion is appropriate to the scene. Those are the things that make me not want to put a book down.

  16. Fantastic interview, Terry!!!

  17. I’m definately going to have to look for Heart of the Wolf! (Love the cover, by the way)!

  18. Great interview! I love werewolves and these books are on my wishlist… Mostly it’s the characters I remember for a long time, sometimes the plot too.

  19. Hi Terry!
    All of the aspects that you mentioned are what make a book memorable for me, especially when they all gel together and flow smoothly. If any one aspect isn’t working, then it distracts one from being “in” the story.

  20. Hi Terry,
    Brad Pitt, yes definitely 🙂
    great interview!!!

  21. Terry, I love all your interviews! You’re everywhere lately and it’s so fun to see!
    The thing that makes a book memorable to me is when it has the whole kit-n-kaboodle: great hero/heroine, great story, vivid imagery of a great locale and, of course, something that I can relate to on some level. I’m so excited to read the wolf series – I’m sure they will be memorable. I know I’m still thinking of and waiting for the rest of Ghost!!! 🙂

  22. Hi Terry, what a great interview. I love learning fun facts about an interesting author. I haven’t read Heart of the Wolf yet, but I love paranormal romance stories, and already have it on my wish list.

    As for your question about what makes a book memorable, it’s the magic of a great story, with strong characters, and a hot romance, all told with a writing style of humor and pacing that just works for me. A great example is Rachel Vincen’ts shifter series that I finally got to read. When it’s great, you don’t want to leave the world between the pages of a book, and in this case, I have three stories to inhale and enjoy all at one time. Love that. Sometimes being late to the party is a good thing, lol.

  23. Wow, Terry – you’ve been busy! NaNoWriMo must last all year for you! Your books sound great, with compelling characters – always the draw for me. Best of luck with your upcoming releases.

  24. I so agree, Cathy! I especially hate it when the series is ongoing, leaves at a cliff hanger, so much prefer to get it later when I can get it all at once! Thanks for commenting!

    Princess Jewel, I’m so glad I’ve got you hooked on Ghost! 🙂 One of these days!!! 🙂 And thanks on the interview! 🙂

    Hi, MC–yeah, wonder if he’d be up to it???

    I so agree, Judi!

    Thanks, Eva! I agree with the plot being important too. 🙂

    Thanks, Wendy! The art department does a fantastic job on the covers. 🙂

    Waving hi, Nicole! 🙂 Thanks for dropping by and commenting!

    Hi, Emma! Thanks! 🙂 That’s another interesting point I’ll have to include in my Happy Hookers class. Thanks!

    Hi Rhonda! Did you get Destiny at the other book store? I can’t wait for Deadly Liaisons to come out either. I haven’t had an adult vampire book come out in forever…only this time some of them are the good guys in a dark sort of way… 🙂

    Barbara, I agree. If I don’t care for the heroine, it’s hard for me to sympathize with her plight and I want the hunky hero to find someone else. 🙂

    Thanks so much, Phyllis!! Yeah, yummy Brad Pitt. He would make an awesome werewolf. 🙂

    Karen, absolutely! When I first started writing, I kept hearing that agents and editors wanted character-focused writing. Huh? I soon learned what they meant. 🙂 Though I want plot in my stories too. I’m greedy. 🙂 Yeah, I need to include that in a story. Lots of fun stuff went on. 🙂

    Thanks so much, Nicole, for dropping by from Embrace the Shadows! You’ll love them, I’m sure!

    Thanks, Sharon! I’m so glad you’re enjoying Heart of the Wolf. 🙂 You’ll both love Destiny of the Wolf. And Temptation of the Wolf after that! 🙂

    LOL, Amy. It makes life interesting and fun to add to stories!!! Thanks!

    Hi Kimber! Yeah, I was talking to my mother about early childhood shapeshifter stories and she brought up that one. I’d never thought of it either! 🙂

    Hi Judy and MM!! Hmmm-I loved riding in the woods in Florida and areas of Texas and Oklahoma–maybe because I love westerns and historical stories, and always wanted to know what it was like riding off into the sunset on your proud steed. But I was terrified of how tall they were and how they tried to scrape me off by snuggling next to trees that they had NO need to get close to. Plus I was embarrassed I was such a neophyte that I didn’t even know which side of the horse to get up on. And the horse knew I was a newby and would move away from me when I tried to get my foot in the stirrup. I loved riding, but was terrified of falling off and held the saddle horn with a death grip…and I knew I didn’t look very chic. LOL !!! But these were trail horses also, and they really didn’t cotten to my commands at all. 🙂

  25. Hi Terry, loved the interview. I would have to agree with you that the first romances that I read were from fairy tales ~ my favorite to this day is Beauty and the Beast!

  26. Great interview, Terry & Greta!

    Terry, I love your story about your last night at basic camp. That just cracks me up that the guys all just stood there naked.

    When a book sticks in my mind, it’s usually because of the characters more than anything else. They’re the reason I want to read more. I usually want to find out what has happened to them, either the main characters or secondary characters I’m hoping will have their own story later on. Of course, a good plot is necessary as well because I would get bored reading it otherwise. But, yeah, it’s mostly all about the characters for me.

  27. Karin, our female drill sergeants each weighed about 60 pounds more than the guys, and man, you should have seen them run when the drill sergeants took off after them. LOL

    Same with me. If the characters don’t resonate in some way, I can’t be bothered reading to find out what their problems are and if they can resolve it or not. 🙂

  28. Another new to me author. I’m loving that you have werewolf books. Totally checking you out and in a good way 😉

    What school were you going to where you did ROTC? I did ROTC for a short bit even went to the OBC during the summer then decided it wasn’t for me. Oh if I had only stuck with it. I ended up joining the Army anyway a few years later. I went to NMMI when I did ROTC.

  29. Omigosh, Brandy, it’s a small world! I went to West Texas A&M and we had guys from NMMI. They were pretty cool because they knew everything already, whereas the rest of us were brand new to the program. 🙂 Glad to hear from you! We had a girl show up from California (I’m orginally from Sacramento), but she had blue hair. Blue does not go with the Army uniform. 🙂 She was sent back to her college with a stern note to her PMS (Professor of Military Science). And we had one who got off the plane and booked a flight straight back home. Never left the airport. And more who left the first week of summer camp. Ahhh, the memories. 🙂 Thanks for dropping by and commenting!

  30. Terry, loved your interview. It was so great having you mention my sister and our “Coffee, Tea or Me” fascination. I’ll tell Susan she had a small hand in helping you become an author. The librarian will be proud. I rode horses with you once. I didn’t know you were afraid.

  31. Great interview! I find it so interesting how different authors approach their writing.

    I have Heart of the Wolf and need to move it up in my TBR pile now 🙂 Also, just discovered your vampire books and look forward to reading them too.

  32. Terry, you’re one of the greatest teachers I ever had. Really, you not only know what it’s all about, but you can really put the information across.
    I’m looking forward to your books. See ‘ya. Bill Sharpe

  33. I love the cover, that wolf is beautiful. Thanks for the post today and sending all of that wind my way.

  34. Great interview Terry, brave of you overcoming your fear of heights. While I like a good plot and interesting settings, for me it’s all about the characters and how they interact in a romance that makes it a winner for me.

  35. Hey, Diane, I’d forgotten about that!!! LOL Yeah, in Texas, the horse jumped when I wasn’t expecting it, and I nearly fell off. I’m sure if I got to ride more often, I’d love it. I really think they’re beautiful animals. Yeah, Susan and you both had a hand in it. 🙂 And I’ll always appreciate both of you for it!

    Thanks, Sara!! Sooo sorry about that wind. I’d hoped it had died down here and not bothered anyone else. Hope you were okay. 😦

    Thanks, Pam, when they said somethng about doing an Australian rappel, by choice? I opted out. That was going face down. 🙂

  36. Hi Terry,

    For me, the combination of plot and characters (and to a lesser extent, setting) make a book memorable. I also love complex, clever worlds.

    I struggle to write them myself, but I love it when someone clinches it. Makes me want more! And the beatiful thing is, a great world can always support a cast of many, so there’s usually a series. Yay!
    E

  37. Hi Terry, great interview. You are definitely a study in contrasts: love horseback riding, but afraid of horses; rappeling off buildings, but afraid of heights-LOL.

    I really like your new cover.

  38. Very insightful interview. Your books sound very interesting. I love a good vampire or shape shifter novel. The things that will keep me coming back to an author, is the action, as in action packed with a lot mystery involving the paranormal.

  39. Hi Terry! Great interview! To make a book memorable for me, it has to have a good combination of plot and characters.

  40. Hi Michelle! Thanks so much. Absolutely move Heart of the Wolf up to the top of the TBR pile. 🙂 LOL Thanks about the vampire books! My very first, now out of print, was based more on my old school way of thinking, the vampires were sexy but bad. The next ones all have vampire heroes, and bad guys! 🙂

    Thanks so much, Bill!! I sooo appreciate the wolf articles you’ve sent me. They’re terrific to add to my stories!

    I so agree, E! Thanks for commenting!

    La-Tessa, and you see that’s what makes a character! 🙂 One who is afraid of things but will fight that fear. With good motivation, though! 🙂 Thanks on the cover! It really is a work of art! 🙂

    Thanks, Donna, same with me. I don’t want to spend hours on psychological issues. I want to see some action. 🙂

    Hi Deborah!!! Thanks! The right combination–yep, the same for me. 🙂 Thanks for dropping by!

  41. Well, dang it, now I have to start collecting another author 🙂
    Good thing there is a few books for me to sink my teeth into already!
    Thanks Terry! I am already hooked on your characters 🙂

Leave a Reply

