• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Deborah Cooke is visiting today

kiss-of-fate-020509

Deborah, Thanks for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

Thank you for inviting me!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Well, I’m a writer (you knew that already) and an avid knitter. I like to read, to cook, to bike, to knit, to quilt and to garden. I live with my family and a lot of things that need to be finished – there are always weeds to be pulled, knitting projects to be finished and dishes to be washed. The one thing that I get done on time is my writing.

How long have you been writing?

I’ve always written, but I sold my first romance in 1992. That was a medieval called THE ROMANCE OF THE ROSE and it was published by Harlequin Historicals in March 1993. Since then, I’ve written time travels, historicals, paranormals, contemporaries, gothics – pretty much every kind of romance. KISS OF FATE is my 36th title in print.

What is your writing process like?

I work mornings, at least 5 days a week. (When deadlines are tight, I’ll work on the weekend, too.) I usually read and edit whatever I wrote the day before, then write at least two more scenes in that book. I can only work on one project at a time, and I’m a bit obsessive about focusing on it to the exclusion of everything else. I don’t read fiction when I’m writing. In the afternoons, I do other things, like write blog posts or read edits, update my website etc. etc. There always seems to be a lot to do.

Can you tell us about your latest release Kiss of Fate?

KISS OF FATE is the third book in the Dragonfire series, and it features the firestorm of Erik, the leader of the Pyr. When I first met Erik – he walked into Sara’s bookshop and introduced himself to both of us – he had silver hair at his temples, so I knew that he had already had his firestorm. But where was his mate? In KISS OF FATE, we learn how things went very badly in Erik’s firestorm – it turns out that he (and his mate) get another chance, because his mate has been reincarnated as Eileen, a comparative mythologist on the trail of the truth in an old dragon story. I really like this book and all the layers in it – Erik, who has never been very talkative with me, really opened up for Eileen.

Will you have any more books in your Dragonfire Novel series?

There are three more Dragonfire books contracted, and I’m hoping there will be even more after that!

Do you have any other books coming out this year?

Yes, Dragonfire #4 will be out in November – it’s called WINTER KISS. I won’t tell you who the hero is until after you’ve all read Erik’s book. And I have a Claire Delacroix book coming out in October – it’s called GUARDIAN and is the second book in my fallen angel series that began last year with FALLEN.

What are you currently working on?

Right now, I’m researching and beginning Dragonfire #5. I’m also writing a short story for the MAMMOTH BOOK OF VAMPIRE ROMANCE 2. I’m not sure of the publication date for the anthology, but it’s my first idea for a vampire romance and I’m really enjoying it.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

I’m not sure. They just turn up and pester me until I write them down.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I read pretty much everything, and roll through every section of the bookstore on a regular basis. I’m just curious about books and stories. Because of that, there are very few authors who I read on an ongoing basis – I’m more likely to browse and read one book from each author I discover. Going to the bookstore is always an adventure, because I never know what I’ll bring home.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

There are too many to list! They tend to be fantasies with romantic elements, or romances with fantasy elements. I like a powerful story told in a strong voice, with lots of evocative imagery. Not too much to ask, is it?! There are also a lot of books on the shelf that I just haven’t gotten to yet, as well as a lot of non-fiction and reference titles. We have a lot of bookshelves.

Do you read books other than romance books?

Yes. (See above.)

What was the first romance book you read?

Don’t laugh. It was an historical romance called ANGEL IN SCARLET by Jennifer Wilde. It wasn’t a new title when I read it – someone (I forget who) lent it to me. There was a lot I liked about it – it was kind of a rags to riches story about a seamstress (maybe she was an orphan) who ended up becoming an actress and owning a theatre in London. It was lush and fun, a huge book. But I didn’t like the HEA. I didn’t find it persuasive that she married for love, then for money, then decided in the end that she was most happy with her best buddy, who had stuck around for the duration – even though he was an okay guy. It just wasn’t romantic enough for me. Later I learned that JW was a pseudonym for Tom Huff – maybe men think that an HEA is with buddies! I also read a lot of Phyllis A. Whitney before that, but I didn’t think of those books as romances – they were probably romantic suspense.

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

Well, I usually cast the heroes if I cast anyone but often I have a hard time making a match. Donovan (KISS OF FURY) could be a pumped up James Dean. Montgomery (FALLEN) could be a pumped up Denzel Washington. Erik, hmm. I don’t have one for Erik, but he’d have to be buff too. Thorolf (a secondary character so far in Dragonfire) is definitely Val Kilmer, in prime shape.

Maybe you’re sensing a theme here…any one have casting ideas for Erik? Quinn?

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

I’d love to be as daring as Lilia in FALLEN or as quick-thinking as Eileen in KISS OF FATE.

Do you have a day job?

I write full time – that’s my day job!

Does your work inspire story ideas?

Yes. Secondary characters demand their own books, all the time. I can’t keep up with them all.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I knit and I cook – and we renovate old houses.

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

What sub-genre of romance – if any – are you missing these days? 

***Leave a comment for a chance to win a copy of Kiss of Fate from Deborah 🙂 ***

25 Responses

  1. First let me say, that I love the first two in this series. I love dragons! Now, you ask, what sub-genre of romance am I missing these days. I hate these questions. I hate labels. lol. I never know how to answer them as I don’t know what it is that I am reading is labeled.
    Thanks for the interview, it was great getting to know you a bit better 😀

  2. LOL Natasha – you just look on the spine. The publisher tells you!

    For example, KISS OF FATE says Paranormal Romance.

    I miss historicals, but maybe that’s just me.

    d

  3. Great interview. I love your writing. Kiss of Fate sounds good. Love the cover.

  4. Wow, Deborah! I’ve been hearing fabulous things about this series–they’re on my friends’ keeper shelves so I’m going to have to get my own copies! 😉 Yay for being able to write full time! What are you working on besides this series at the moment? I know that you also have a couple pen names–do you focus on writing for one at a time, or do you juggle several projects at once?

    As for what sub genre I might be missing–I feel like there’s a lot of variety for the most part. I have been enjoying stories that pick up after the HEA, for instance, involving an already married couple. These don’t seem to be too popular, and not really an official sub genre 😛

  5. I enjoyed reading your interview. Kiss of Fate sounds like an awesome book.

    I miss medievals. I wish publishers would release more of them than they do. It is such an interesting time period for romances to be set in.

  6. Thanks Crystal! I love every one of the covers in this series. I keep thinking they can’t make the next one better, then they do.

    And Fedora for the news about your friends’ keeper shelves. That’s where I always want to be!

    Right now, I’m writing Dragonfire and also a future-set series featuring fallen angel heroes. It’s more science-fiction-y and gritty – FALLEN by Claire Delacroix came out last October and book #2 – GUARDIAN – will be out next October. REBEL comes the October after that. (info at http://www.delacroix.net)

    Ah, Lori Ann, words straight to my heart! I LOVE medievals and miss them like crazy. My first love. Don’t worry – they’ll be back.

    d

  7. Hi Deborah!

    Greta introduced me to you a while ago and I picked up Kiss Of Fire, Kiss Of Fury and today I finally got my hands on Kiss of Fate! I’ve not started reading the books yet, I wanted to have them all in my hands so that once I started I could read through all 3 books at once!!

    Sub-genre that I miss….I love reading time travel books……does that count? There are a few authors that write them, whether they are western or medieval and I love them all but I don’t see many of them anymore!

  8. I love this series and am thilled there will be three more.

    I don’t know how to answer the sub-genre answer well. I do miss smart characters though. It seems that so many books that I have been reading have very unrealistic barriers that are built between hero/heroine. One of the reasons I have enjoyed the Dragonfire series is that the storylines/character reactions work for me.

    So many paranormals are very “cookie cutter” right now that it is burning me out of the genre. This has been a nice, refreshing change.

  9. Blanche, you’re right. There aren’t many TT’s anymore – about 10 years ago, there were a bunch of them. I even wrote four of them (as Claire Cross) and they were a lot of fun to write. The good ones really work. Thanks for picking up the Dragonfire series!

    Hi Amy – I’m glad you’re enjoying the series, too, and glad that you find the conflicts and characters realistic. Each time I put a heroine in a corner, I try to think of what I’d do in that situation – but these heroines usually have even better ideas than me. I love writing smart characters and my editor has been great about letting me play.

    I also think it’s important to keep twisting the basic concept for a series so it doesn’t get dull. Erik’s story KISS OF FATE came from the question “what happens if a Pyr messes up his firestorm?” for example. I had to find a solution, because I wanted Erik to be happy!

    d

  10. Hi Deborah! I picked up Kiss of Fury on a whim and the library and loved it so much I went out and bought both it and book 1! I love reading aboud dragons and your stories put a nice twist on the traditional stories. As to what I miss, I agree that a lot of the paranormals seem to be retelling the same vampire and shifter stories over and over again. The success of Twilight hasn’t helped in that even more of the same books keep getting published! Which isn’t to say that there are not some quality series out there to read. Anyway, I miss reading about the development of the relationship between the characters. It seems so many books just jump right into the physical that it’s nice to read about the characters learning about each other and occasionally screwing things up before they manage to get back on track and earn their HEA.

  11. So far, I am really enjoying the Pyr series. I’m looking forward to Kiss of Fate.

    I’m like you in my reading. I like a little bit of everything and can spend hours and hours just wandering the different sections in the library or bookstore looking for something to read.

  12. Hi Deborah, I’m really enjoying this series. I love both paranormals and historicals, but would love to see more medievals and time travels. I like sci-fi/futuristic, too, so I’ll be watching for those down the road.

  13. Can’t wait to read Kiss of Fate. I loved the first two. I have been inspired to learn to knit by reading your blog. I have knitted 6 scarfs and a hat and am ready to move on to other stiches. The sub-genre I miss, hmm not many really. Ones I have given on however are numerous. I still do love a good regency and science fiction.

  14. Hi Deborah! Great interview! Kiss of Fate sounds awesome! I agree with Pam, I miss time travels and medievals. I don’t find too many of those nowadays.

  15. Great interview. I would love to read this book!

  16. Good Evening. I havent had the pleasure of reading this series yet but would love to. Thank you for the great post. The cover of the book is fantastic.

  17. Hi Deborah! Thank you for such a wonderful interview! I miss reading about the early American time period and medievals. I used to love those!

  18. Hi Deborah~

    Great interview and I am excited to learn that there are more books on the way. Congrats on being able to writer full time.

    I am not sure what sub-genre I miss…for myself I think that I need to go pick up a historical as I have not read one of those forever and it used to be the main thing that I read.

    Your books sound amazing and I am going to need to bump them up in my tbr pile!

    Have a great weekend.

  19. Cool Cover! I cant wait to read it!

  20. Wow, lots of Friday night traffic! Thanks everyone for stopping by and for commenting.

    I agree, Lisa, with wanting to see the relationship develop. Not that there’s anything wrong with sex (!) but I want to know for sure that the HEA is for good. And that means that the hero and heroine have to work together to solve a conflict, preferably a big one. The books that manage that are the ones that go on my keeper shelf!

    Thanks Karin and Pam P – I’m glad to hear that you’re enjoying the series. I’m having such a good time with it.

    And Sandy, you’ve learned to knit! HA! I’ll count that as a triumph.

    Debbie and Margie, I’m with you about medievals.

    Thanks Andrea for stopping by, and sara, you’re right about the covers. Wow. They’ve all been amazing. I don’t know how the art department keeps making each one better than the last. (Did you know that you have the same name as the heroine in KISS OF FIRE?) Ah, Lori, I hear you on the TBR – mine is still toppling. One day we’ll get through them all, but I’m honoured to be kicked closer to the top of yours!

    d

  21. Hmm.. What sub-genre am I missing in romance. Great question Deborah.
    Ancient British-Celtic Paranormal, I think.
    I have a few page-length summaries for that kind of thing in my idea file, so I can indulge myself by writing it. :-}
    I read lots of everything, and that’s about the only thing I haven’t encountered recently, but I may have missed something.

  22. Hi Deborah! I just finished Kiss of Fate and it is wonderful! I love the characters!! And I especially love that Dragons are not always the bad guys. Can’t wait for the next installment, either!!

  23. Hi Diana –

    You know, there never was very much of that. Maybe the setting is covered better in the fantasy section (Marion Zimmer Bradley for example) which isn’t romance but often has romantic elements. I think it’s a setting that really benefits from the extensive world-building more common in fantasy.

    That said, I bet you’d do a great job with one!

    d

  24. Glad you enjoyed it, Chris!

    I’m going to talk a bit about the next book on my blog this week, so check in:
    http://www.delacroix.net/blog

    d

  25. Hey Deborah!. I have to say that I absolutely LOVE your book KISS OF FATE. I didn’t get to read the first 2 because I picked this book off the rack. It’s so good! I love dragons now lol.But I can’t wait to see if your books turn into movies. I really want to see how Erik would look like. Kiss of Fate is the first book I read even though its the third, but I think its the best one yet! Hopefully you come out with more dragonfire books. Great job on this book! Also…guy on the cover is cute!!

Leave a Reply

