• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Dee Tenorio is visiting today

lovemetomorrow72lg

Dee, Thanks for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Oh, the dreaded “a bit about yourself” question. 🙂 Well, I’ve been a wife for thirteen years to an absolutely wonderful guy. We’ve got three kids and as a bonus, he’s a graphic artist, so he’s not even slightly bothered when I leap out of bed in a mad dash for my computer because “I got an idea!”. I’m a wee bit quirky, but I love romance and I love stories, so it seems like a fated occupation to become a romance writer.

How long have you been writing?

Erm…well, I’ve been writing novels towards publication for eleven years now. Before that, there were stories…but if we talk about them, they might escape the trap door under the bed where I stuffed them.

What is your writing process like?

I’m a linear plotzer. Or, in regular speak, I give myself a general plot or synopsis to work through and then write by the seat of my pants as far as scenes and dialogue go. Plotting ahead of time doesn’t really work for me, so I’ll never do a character sheet first, but it helps a lot to know where everything is going. And I’m also the kind that can’t skip forward. I know some writers write whichever scenes come there way, but if I sense a problem to the back, I can’t go forward and I have to finish the scene I’m in to keep moving. Definitely a problem when the only scene I can see clearly is the epilogue!

Can you tell us about your latest release Love Me, Tomorrow?

In short, Love Me Tomorrow is the story of a man who has to learn to forgive, particularly himself. He’s a firefighter who takes a lot on his shoulders and has no room for errors in his life. So you can imagine how hard it is for him to be wildly in love with a flaky artist for whom chaos is just a regular part of the day. I loved Josh and much as I cheered on Miranda, his heroine, he was the one I wanted to figure out that life is what you make it, not what it makes you. It’s a hard lesson for him…especially when he figures out someone is trying kill him. (Yeah, when I make someone miserable, I tend to go the whole 9 yards.)

Also, Love Me Tomorrow is my first ever suspense. I dipped my toe into the genre with “Midnight Legacy” but this one is a full out “Someone’s out to get me” book. LOL!

Will you have any more books in this series?

I have a few other ideas for the town, so I’m definitely hoping to continue with the series. Incidentally, if you’ve read my first book, “Betting Hearts”, you’ll recognize the town where LMT and DTY are based-I went back to Rancho Del Cielo. A little more on that later.

Do you have any other books coming out this year?

I’m working on a novella that I’m hoping to get out this year, not related to the Rancho Del Cielo books, about an accountant and his Marriage of Convenience plan gone terribly wrong when he figures out his Bride-to-Be might possibly be in love with him.

What are you currently working on?

Well, I’m right in the middle of writing the immediate follow up, tentatively titled “Devoted To You”-can’t say who’s in it yet, but after you read Love Me Tomorrow, you’ll probably figure it out pretty quick. Also, I’m planning a free read for the summer. 🙂 (The free read would tell the story of secondary characters Selvyn and Alice)

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

The RDC novels are all loosely based on my hometown, actually. Of course, no one I met there ever had a betting ring about a wedding, but I wouldn’t be surprised, lol. Most of my ideas all have a kernel of true stories somewhere in them. Midnight Sonata actually started because when I was little, my neighbors were a divorced couple who couldn’t bear to be apart…or together. So they lived next door to each other until the day one of them passed on. My own personal Wuthering Heights, I guess, lol. It doesn’t take a lot to get me wondering “what it?” and taking a true story into a totally different direction.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

Well, I’ve been on a paranormal run the last few years, but yes, I love to read and hubby has learned that wherever I go, I bring our kids, a book and something to write ideas in. Mostly, I think, because I love, love, LOVE books full of wit and spirited characters and heros who are grumpy alphas. (My personal reading weakness) Autobuys for me currently are Nalini Singh, Kresley Cole and Lora Leigh is edging in there. (I was introduced to Breeds and have been done in every since!)

What books are on your keeper shelf?

Well, it’s more a bookcase. I’ve got my Nalinis, Coles, Kate Walkers and Day Leclaires (Did you read her Dantes series??) I’ve got my Nocturnes and various one offs. But I’m a sucker for a dynasty.

Do you read books other than romance books?

Not as often as I used to. I’m a sucker for the Alex Cross novels. I’d go for the Lincoln Rhyme books if I wasn’t sure I wouldn’t be able to stop. I like crime novels and murder books. (And yet, I’m surprised when I have suspense ideas….)

What was the first romance book you read?

Well, I was ten, I think. I don’t really remember the title, exactly, but I remember that it was a Harlequin Red Book of some sort. Desire, possibly, most likely a Temptation. The hero had come back to his hometown, where he’d been the black sheep and was now a billionaire with a chip on his shoulder. I know he was Greek and that his heroine was innocently trampling all over his sensitive issues, which he’d get angry and stomps about before remembering that she was too nice to be working an angle like everyone else he knew. She helps him remember his inner nice guy and he brings a crew to town to make all her dreams come true. I was absolutely SOLD to romance after that.

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

Oh, wow. Hmmm, well, I could probably see Betting Hearts as a movie. For actors, lol, well, that’d be hard. It would have to be an unknown for Cass, I think. Anne Hathaway, but athletic, lol. She’d need that kind of timing but Anne’s too girly. I’m not sure she could break a guy’s nose in one punch, much less throw him over a table and break it. For Burke… About the closest I could imagine is a Jullian McMahon type. Sexy, smart, a little oblivious and a lot in denial. Julian could do Burke some justice, but he’s getting just a little older for the role. I’d be willing to fudge it, though, lol.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

Well, I practically live with Ethan right now (Kiss Me Again’s hero), but I’d have to go with Vanessa from Midnight Temptation. She lives with Raven, which should really be a ’nuff said, right there. But then she’s got twins, so I already have experience with that. Bonus is she can afford a housekeeper.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

Hahahahahahahahahahaha! Oh, wait, you’re serious. Well, that would have to be watching movies with the hubby. We’re total movie freaks. I usually write or work while we watch, but on those rare nights when my hands aren’t busy, I love to snuggle up to my hubby and watch a great flick.

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

Let me think… What is the most romantic thing you’ve ever seen or heard about? (After all, one never knows where you might find your next great story idea!)

***Leave a comment to win a download e-book from Dee***

11 Responses

  1. Great interview! And I am such a sucker for firefighters. 🙂 I’ll definitely have to check out Love Me Tomorrow!

  2. I’m sure I’ve seen or heard something romantic but right now nothings comes to mind.I think one person’s romantic is another person’s sweet. Like it was sweet of my husband when I was pregnant with #2 and be bought me a gift package at the Aveda Spa. I got my hair done, a pedicure and a pregnancy massage.

  3. Howdy Ladies!

    Cynthia–I’m partial to firefighters because I’m pretty sure all of Southern California would have been toasted off the map without them. They’re hugely my heroes and I’m hoping I’ve done them at least a little proud with this book.

    Brandy–awww, that is sweet. And omg, what I wouldn’t have given for a massage when I was pregnant. Alas, lol, the one time hubby tried, they had to stop him and give me a shot because it sent me into labor. (I have very lame insides.)

    I find all kinds of things to be romantic, and sweet definitely falls into it. A devoted husband is a wonderful idea for an epilogue. 🙂

  4. Dee that was a great interview. I loved the bit about your graphic artist hubby understaning when you leap out of bed with an idea. LOL

    I am looking forward to reading your new “Love Me tomorrow”.

    Sandie

  5. Well i see this is not the only book i need to get from you. I really enjoyed the interview and hope to read more about this interesting town!

  6. LOL, I thought the subscription would tell me if there were new posts, sorry to be slow coming in again. 🙂

    Hey Sandie! He fully understands creative impulse. He doesn’t always understand some of the other stuff I throw at him, though, like “If you had claws, show me how you’d swing them.” He’s a good sport though.

    Hee hee, Dayanna. I still say you’ll want to take a look at Devoted To You. Esp after the love scene I wrote today. Makes it a damn shame my hero isn’t real…

    Dee

  7. What a great interview! My family contains a number of firefighters and I always enjoy reading stories with them.

    I like simplicity in romance, so, to me, one of the most romantic gestures is just holding hands. Maybe once I have more personal experience with it, that will change, but I doubt it.

  8. Hi, Dee! Just wanted to say that I loved Kiss Me Again and Ethan! I’m amazed at how you write such real characters and such emotionally true situations. As for romantic gestures, these days I’m most excited by getting to sleep in while DH gets up with the kids 😉

  9. Great interview! Love Me Tomorrow sounds great!

  10. So I had hubby pick a random poster and he picked…Brandy W! Congratulations! You’ve won an ecopy of any book of mine! Check out my list over on my blog, http://www.deetenorio.com/Blog and drop me a line at laideebug @ gmail.com (no spaces) to let me know your choice and which format you prefer!

    Thanks everyone!
    Dee

  11. I loved the blog ….. so funny! I can’t wait to read the book.

Leave a Reply

