• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Paty Jager is visiting today

Paty, Thanks for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

I’ve been an avid reader my whole life, learning to read at the age of five when my older brother was in first grade and started reading. I read anything I could get my hands on. Later, I learned the power of the written word in an English class and I was hooked on writing. I joined RWA (Romance Writers of America) ten years ago. It was the best thing I could have done to hone my writing.

My husband and I will celebrate our 30th anniversary this year. We have four children and eight grandchildren. We raise cattle on our seventy acres in Central Oregon and Hay on our 280 acres in Eastern Oregon. 

How long have you been writing?

Writing has been a part of my life since I could write. As a child I penned plays that my brother and I acted out with stuffed animals as puppets, then I wrote stories with my friends in Junior High, and progressed from there to a freelance newspaper reporter and on to a novelist.

What is your writing process like?

I get an idea of a premise or a character, then I start digging into the idea or the character and flesh the story out from there. Since I write historical westerns sometimes the research I do on one project will spark an idea for another book.  The research I do for a book plays heavily in the plot. Places and events I discover help to move the story along. For that reason I’m not a write the synopsis before you write the book author. Because sometimes the research happens as I’m writing the book and then I go off in a different direction.

outlaw-in-petticoats

Can you tell us about your latest release?

My latest release is Outlaw in Petticoats. It is the second book in my Halsey brother series. My debut book was Marshal in Petticoats the first Halsey brother book. I left a dangler about a tintype in the first book and wrote the second book to give readers closure on that and to bring my favorite Halsey brother to life. Zeke is a charming man of good humor and exceptionally patient while making prickly school teacher Maeve Loman fall in love with him. The problem is she is determined not to love any man and be left stranded like her father did her mother. To prove himself and give Maeve closure, the two set out in search of her father. Along the way they encounter outlaws and Maeve falls in with the group. Zeke is a happy-go-lucky man except when it come s to criminals. His parents and youngest brother were murdered by thieves, and he has vowed to avenge their deaths by thwarting all criminals.

miner-in-petticoats

Do you have any other books coming out this year?

The third Halsey brother book, Miner in Petticoats will be out in June. This is the tale of Ethan and the widow Miller who isn’t about to stand down from anyone, especially, when for the first time in years, she’s feeling emotions she thought had been ripped from her by an abusive husband.

What are you currently working on?

I just finished the first book of a series about a Pinkerton agent and a U.S. Marshal.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Ideas for books come from the news, the radio, music, research. At a volleyball tournament I attended with my daughter I spotted a striking looking girl and started plotting a story around a character that looked like her. I have a very active imagination and it has done me well for writing! LOL

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I read, just about anything but horror and sci-fi. Auto-buy authors are my friends and acquaintances.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

Hummingbird- LaVyrle Spencer

Paper Tiger – Patricia Rice

Magnolia – Diana Palmer

Born in Trilogy – Nora Roberts

Agatha Christie

Do you read books other than romance books?

Yes, mysteries

What was the first romance book you read?

I don’t know the title, but it was either a Phyllis Whitney or Victoria Holt

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would you like to see as the lead characters?

This is hard…The book I would like to see hasn’t been published yet. And I’m really bad at picking actors because I watch so few movies.  So I think I’ll skip this question.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why

The character I would like to be is my current heroine. She’s a Pinkerton agent. She never gives up and always finds a silver lining even when there seems to be no way out for her.

Do you have a day job?

Not that I get a regular paycheck for. I take care of the animals, change irrigation pipes, rake and bale hay as well as other farm/ranch duties.

Does your work inspire story ideas?

Yes, I wrote a scene in my contemporary western, Perfectly Good Nanny, about a cow having problems birthing a calf and the process to pull it.

Are any of your characters based on real people?

Not anyone specific, but I think I put little snippets of people I know in characters. It’s how I make them real.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

Riding my horse, taking walks, and visiting my children and grandchildren.

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be?

Describe to me your ideal book- type of character, genre, premise.

***Leave a comment for a chance to win a copy of Marshall in Petticoats – Good Luck***

You can find out more about at Paty Jager at her website: http://www.patyjager.com/

28 Responses

  1. Excellent interview, Paty! I loved all of these stories and can’t wait for the Halsey bros. series to continue!

  2. great interview

    i love nora roberts and Diana Palmer books too

  3. Hi there Paty! I thoroughly enjoyed the interview. I can’t wait to read more of your books and I can only hope that I am married as long as you have been. You go girl!

  4. My ideal book would pretty much be anything paranormal, but all it really takes is a book that sucks me in starting with cover art, then book blurb and ending with an amazing first page.

    Deidre

  5. Hi Paty! Great interview. My ideal book? A romance, of course. I love the happy endings. And the hero would love his heroine with a fierce and absolute passion and would be willing to move the world for her. Whether it’s historical, contemporary, or paranormal, sweet or erotic, I need to fall in love with hero as the heroine does.

    Helen

  6. Paty, it’s always fun learning more about a friend. Great interview!

  7. Hi Paty,

    I remember pulling calves. We had Jerseys, and they seldom had problems, but we had a few Holsteins and they pushed out some big bull calves sometimes. We had calf chains, but I remember using baling twine and an aluminum scoop shovel one time, my feet sliding in the manure as I tried to pull. Yup, now I remember why I don’t miss it anymore.

  8. I don’t care what anybody says, there’s nothing like a cowboy.

  9. Wow, I read in so many different genres, it’s hard to pick just one. I just finished a fantastic Victorian set romance by my friend Denise Eagan, but I’ve also read a lot of science fiction. Catherine Moon is one of my favorites in that genre. I recently read one of Dean Koontz’s newer books–he’s one of my favorite authors–and I love historicals and paranormals, as well as those two genres mixed together. Dawn Thompson was one of my favorite paranormal/historical authors. But you can find me pretty much reading just about everything, at long as it fits my interest.

  10. I like the question you’d ask your readers. Good idea! Thirty years of marriage! Congratulations 🙂

  11. Hi Paty,

    I grew up on Phyllis Whitney, Victoria Holt, and Barbara Michaels. Oh, what good books they were. I’m with you, I like to read a variety.

    I loved Perfectly Good Nanny and the cow birthing scene.

    Linda
    http://www.lindalaroque.com

  12. Angie, thanks for stopping by!

    Deidre, I have a paranormal historical I’ve been trying to get some bites on. It’s Native America set and I’ve been told no one wants that. I’d love to prove them wrong!

  13. Wonderful interview Paty!

    Looking forward to Miner in Petticoats! Had to laugh at the volleyball tournament admission, and have to ask…Did she become the heroine in one of your books?

    Have a great day!

  14. Hi Paty!

    Wonderful interview. Since I live in the suburbs, I find your life so fascinating. I’m jealous. 🙂 Congrats on all your writing success!

  15. I’m a big fan of the historical romance novels, mainly in the Regency era. I used to read historicals set in the American South (Antebellum & Civil War) as well as Post-Civil War south & west. Those kind of went by the wayside though and haven’t read one for a long time.

    Some really great books were by Heather Graham written in the ’90s: The Cameron Family Trilogy (One Wore Blue; One Wore Grey; And One Rode West). She also wrote ‘The Florida Series’, another family saga consisting of 6 books chronicling early Florida history through the Civil War.

    I haven’t read your books, but after reading the excerpts at your website, I think I’ll be adding you to my authors-to-buy list.

  16. Hi Paty! I am loving the sound of your “Petticoats” series. I, too, am a ‘write the synopsis AFTER the story is complete writer’. It was nice “seeing” you today!

  17. I really enjoy books that show ordinary people becoming heroic in extraordinary situations. I’ve read one of your books, and I think you do this well. So I’m a fan-girl! And I want an uplifting ending.

    This type of book is not limited to one genre – I’ve read stories like this in romances, mysteries, sci-fi, fantasy, and general fiction.

    I enjoy a touch of humor as well. Here’s a very skietchy sample premise for a western romance of this type:

    An award-winning cowgirl falls for a bronco rider, and the two of them must prevent a murder. When she discovers her hero is really a rodeo clown, they prevent the murder anyway.

    Sarah

  18. Very nice interview I got to learn a lot about you so thanks for the great time.

    To answer the question I would like to see a paranorml but a time travel since it combines all of my favorite things. History, time travel, paranormal, gorgeous guys and depending on what period it could be a highlander or knight or Civil War soldier or whatever. That is the fun part about time travel you just never know.

    Thanks again I had a fun time reading the article.

    Lainey

  19. Nice having you here today, I’m always looking for new authors and series to read. Checked out your site and love all the purple!

  20. Loved the interview, thanks for having Paty here today. I really hope I win this!!!

  21. Oops sorry I forgot to hit the notify button on the bottom.

  22. Hi Paty! Wonderful interview! I love reading historicals especially westerns! Your Halsey brothers series sounds fabulous!

  23. Hi, Paty! Thanks for the terrific interview! I’m not sure I’ve got an ideal book–recently I’ve been enjoying Westerns more and more, and a few themes I really love are friends-to-lovers, Cinderella/plain Jane-wins-the-hero (especially if it’s more of a change in perception rather than a dramatic makeover that’s responsible for the love in the relationship), and must-marry-for-whatever-reason (keep an inherited family together, to fulfill terms of a will, whatever…)

  24. Hi, Paty! I’ve always liked time travel romances. The hero or the heroine travels to the past—any time period/location—will do. And of course, it has to have a HEA ending! Thanks for the great interview! I’ll be on the lookout for your books.

  25. I love contemporary romances in Western, Historical, Medical.
    I like the friends to lovers, the boy next door who just moved in, the doctor/patient, etc.

  26. Sorry I didn’t get back here yesterday to visit, my internet went down. 😦

    Thank you all for stopping by and visiting! And giving me some insight into what you all like to read. It helps me make decisions on the next books I write.

    Alice, Lisa, and Sarah great to see you here, thanks for stopping by!

    Nic, Helen, Viola, Debra, Lauri, Linda, Hey ladies, good to see you!

    Val, Deidre, Elaine, Susan, Lainey, Teresa W., Tami C., Margie, Fedora, Deborah, and Robyn L., Thank you all for visiting and commenting!

    Kathy, yes, we have the chains for pulling calves. We use angus bulls to throw smaller calves and usually only have problems now and then with the heifers.

    I’m waiting for confirmation from Greta on who gets the book and I’ll let you know.

  27. Great interview, Paty & Greta! Paty, it sounds like you do plenty of work aside from writing. The way that work has found its way into your writing sounds really interesting.

  28. Thanks for stopping by, Karin. Yes, I have a pretty active ranching life that filters into my books.

Leave a Reply

