• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please Welcome – Dawn McClure today

asmodeus

Dawn, Thanks for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

~ Thanks so much for having me!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

~ I’m 31 years old, I’ve been happily married for over eleven years and I’m a procrastinator.  Hey, where did that last part come from?  My husband was in the Marine Corps for 12 years, so I moved around a lot during that time.  I’ve lived in Italy, California, North Carolina, Chicago, Florida, and now I live in Michigan.  I have two daughters who are very close in age, so they are constantly at each other’s throats.  Half the time when I’m writing I’m also yelling, “Okay, knock it off!” or “What was that?” 

How long have you been writing?

~ I’ve always loved to write.  I think the first time I tried to write a romance novel I was twenty-two years old.  I went through a phase were I only wrote up to three chapters, and then I would toss the pages in the trash.  It wasn’t until 2006 when I finished my first novel, Heaven’s Exile.  When that manuscript was finished I decided to join Romance Writers of America, and that was when I began to take my writing seriously. 

What is your writing process like?

~ Hmmm, I don’t really have a process.  I wish I did.  I wrote the first draft of Azazel in less than a week, and sent it off to an editor who had expressed interest in my work.  It took me two months to complete Asmodeus, and an extra seven months to edit it.  Heaven Sent (not published) took me two weeks to write, and roughly six months to edit.  I write fast, and I edit very slowly.  When I get excited about my story I know it’s finished.  You would never want to see a first draft of one of my novels.  It’s a scary, scary thing.

Can you tell us about your newest release Asmodeus? Isn’t this book the second in a series?

~ Yes, Asmodeus is the second book in the Fallen Angel series.  Brianna, the heroine, is an aspiring witch who accidentally summons a demon from the Abyss.  Right away she knows she needs to send him back, but she’s not sure how she can do it.  Before she finds a way to send Asmodeus back to the Abyss, four death angels give her a mission – kill Asmodeus or face the Abyss herself.  The angels tell her to gain Asmodeus’s trust in order to make the kill, and yet the closer she gets to him, the more she sees the man Asmodeus is and not the demon she thought him to be. 

Do you have any other books coming out this year?

~ Not yet, but the year has just begun.  <BG>

What are you currently working on?

~ I’m working on Jade’s novella, a character I introduced in Azazel.  She’s a kick-ass assassin for the Alliance but she has a bit of a secret – one she isn’t sharing with her boss, Ambrose.  That secret forces Ambrose to put her on probation, and Samael (another yummy demon) is sent in to watch Jade and report on her progress.  Ambrose gives her four missions to prove she deserves to remain an assassin in the Alliance – and Samael is there to keep her in line…in more ways than one.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

~ I was taking a bubble bath when the line “I’ll break your back like a dry twig in autumn” came to me.  I have no idea where the line came from.  I ended the bath quickly, jumped on my laptop and began to flesh out the first chapter of Azazel.  Alexia, the heroine in Azazel, was crystal clear to me.  I knew her problems instantly, and I knew her personality.  It was weird. 

The premise for Asmodeus came at me a little differently.  It was two in the morning, I’m sitting in bed watching The Mummy, and I thought I saw something move out of the corner of my eye.  No one was home.  My husband was in Iraq, my daughters were spending the night with a friend, and I admit I was a little scared.  lol  I put my laptop on my lap and started writing the first chapter of Asmodeus.  When you read about Brianna’s fear in chapter one – that was what I was feeling.  But instead of going with something scary, I had her summon a hot demon.  🙂  That’s where the idea for Asmodeus came from.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

~ I enjoy reading paranormal romance, but I started out reading strictly historical romance.  Medieval knights, Regency rogues, with a stray pirate or Indian thrown in the mix.  My all-time favorite book is Ransom by Julie Garwood.  I read that book years ago and I still believe Brodick (the hero in the book) is hands down the best hero ever.  The heroine was insanely funny, charismatic and tough as nails – yet she had this endearing quality that made you want to protect her from the harsh world.  God I love that book!!

My auto-buy authors are J.R. Ward, Charlaine Harris, Kresley Cole and Diana Cosby. 

What books are on your keeper shelf?

~ The only books I keep are the books that are autographed to me.  Otherwise they get sent to the library or Goodwill.  I read too many books to keep them on my bookshelf.  🙂

What was the first romance book you read?

~ A Knight in Shining Armor by Jude Deveraux.  I was twelve at the time.   

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

~ LOL!  It would have to be Asmodeus.  Because it’s a novel-length book and I think there are more twists and turns involved that would make it a better movie than Azazel.  I honestly can’t think of an actor who would make a good Asmodeus, but I’ll go with a young Demi Moore to play Brianna.   

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

~ Brianna.  She’s quirky and funny, and she owns her own bookstore! 

Do you have a day job?

~ I’m working at Marshall’s for the time being.  “Hi, would you like to save 10% on your purchase today?”

Does your work inspire story ideas?

~ Nope.

Are any of your characters based on real people?

~ The heroes always tend to have a bit of my husband in them.  I’ve actually used a direct quote from him in places.  A funny story – in one of the direct quotes my editor asked me to take it out of the manuscript.  She said it was rude for the hero to say that to the heroine.  LOL! 

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

~ I have no spare time at the moment.  I’m trying to find that writing process we talked about in the beginning of the interview.  🙂 When I’m not busy writing I like to cross-stitch and spend time with my family.

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

~ What do you believe it is that makes a great romance novel?  Do you fantasize about the characters long after you put the book down?  Do you get so wrapped up in reading the story you stay up until the wee hours of the morning?  Is it the characterization, the action, the plot, the humor that keeps you intrigued?  Oops, that was more than one question.  🙂

Thanks so much for having me!  I hope 2009 brings you much happiness and hours and hours of pleasurable reading.  🙂

***Okay doing things a little different. Dawn has agreed to give a one copy of Azazel to one lucky commenter and one copy of Asmodeus to another lucky commenter. Please indicate in your comment which book you would like if chosen. Good Luck***

27 Responses

  1. I want this series soooo bad!
    Azazel!

  2. Thanks again for having me, Greta. :o)

    ~ Monk you just made my day. :o)

  3. Fabulous interview Dawn. Congrats on your new release.

    Mac

  4. This interview went really well! I enjoyed reading it! You are a great inspiration to me with the completion of your novels. I am really going to have to focus and start typing!

    Best wishes,

    Christopher

  5. Asmodeus!!!!

    What do you believe it is that makes a great romance novel? Lots of HOT SEX-DUH! Of course you have to have suspence, mystery, and quick dialogue to keep me there too.
    Do you fantasize about the characters long after you put the book down? Sometimes, Larissa Ione’s boys have that effect on me and Jaci Burton’s boys are hotties too!
    Do you get so wrapped up in reading the story you stay up until the wee hours of the morning? After I am about halfway through, yes!
    Is it the characterization, the action, the plot, the humor that keeps you intrigued? There has to be a good balance of all of the above!

    Great interview!

  6. That is a great interview. Congrats on the new book, Dawn. I’d love to start this series so Azazel would be my choice, then I’d have to buy Asmodeus to read right after. 🙂

  7. Hi Dawn,
    Can’t wait to read this series. Good luck with the new release. I already bought the ebooks, but when do they come out in print?

  8. Great interview. Good luck with the books, Dawn. I already bought them both.

  9. Great interview — credits to you both! I definitely have my “heroes” who I fantasize about independent of reading the books. But I find my own hero is the most compelling to me. I’d have to vote that it’s always the characters that concern me most.

  10. Thanks so much, Mackenzie. 🙂 Congrats to you also!

    Hi Chris! I’ve read some of your writing, so I know you’re going to get there. Have fun with your characters.

    Kristin – Yes, Jaci has some hot man-meat in her books. Surviving Demon Island made me a fan for life.

    Jen – Thanks. 🙂 Have a wonderful day!

  11. So glad you could be here today, as an avid reader of all genres I’m always looking for new authors to read. Since you are a new for me I would pick the first book in the series Azazel, sounds like a great one!

  12. Since I still haven’t picked up your book I would need Azazel.

    Come on I’m sure there are some pretty interesting characters at Marshall’s. hehe

    I think a great romance maker is a good story with people I can imagine and places that make me feel like I’m there. If I get so immersed in a story that I can’t put it down I will stay up until the wee hours of the morning. I do occasionally fantasize about the characters. Hey why not, if I just stayed up so late that its time for the kids to go to school it must have been fantastic. It was the story and the people, the action and emotion that kept me up that long in the first place.

  13. Hi Liz – When I find out I’ll let you know.

    Thanks Nikki. :o) I hope you like Asmodeus.

    Jeffe – One of my fav heroes was Brodick from the book Ransom. Julie Garwood did a fantastic job on that historical. I read that book over 10 times (at least).

    Teresa – thanks so much. :o)

    Brandy – I don’t get very much inspiration at Marshalls. LOL I love when a story builds and you just can’t put it down. I can’t help but stay up late to finish stories like that. :o)

  14. Hi Dawn! I totally loved Azazel! I bought Asmodeus yesterday and can’t wait to dig in! Hot fallen angels are my new fave genre!

    Do you have any plans to write a longer book? Over 100k? You have such an awesome world you’ve built, I’d love more time to explore and play… with Azazel. 😉

    Great writing!

  15. I enjoyed reading your interview, Dawn 🙂

    Your books sound very interesting and I really need to move Azazel towards the top of my tbr list 🙂

    As for what I think makes a great romance is a good story line with characters that just move you. The ones that have you on the edge of your seats ready to turn the page.

  16. What a great interview, Dawn, it was great to get to know you. A great romance is one you set aside time for because you know that once you start it you won’t want to stop, and when you are sorry to get to the end because the author created such an amazing world and filled it with characters that you can’t wait to hear about again.

  17. Liz – thanks so much! Hmmm, 100k? Bite your tongue, woman! lol How about 90k? I think I can do that. 😉

    Ali – I just read a romance that had such emotional depth it made me cry. I loved what the book promoted – hope. It was truly moving.

    Cathy – I agree. J.R. Ward is one of those authors who do that very thing for me. When I get a Brotherhood novel everything must stop for a few days. 🙂

  18. Good afternoon all. I am very intrigued with these books and would love to start this series. Anyone who comes up with lines like that in the bathtub is just utterly amazing. I think if I was lucky enough to be chosen I would like to have Azazel!

  19. Dawn, I can’t wait to start reading both of your books. Money has been tight, so I haven’t been buying many. It would be great to be chosen to receive one of your books. As for your question to us… I will often read a story until I am finished. Everything else goes out the window. J.R. Ward is one of those that I can’t put down until I am finished.

  20. Sara – What was amazing was that the entire character came to life from that one line. I knew who she was, and her problems became crystal clear. You gotta love that. Not like my last novella…I had to beat the characters into submission. lol

  21. This series sounds fantastic. I’m really intrigued by the blurb for Azazel and Asmodeus sounds great.

    I think it’s great that your husband has leaked into a few of your heroes – who better than your own hero to do that.

    I definitely get wrapped up in good books so much that I’ll read them in the wee hours of the morning without realizing just what time it is. While the action is important, it’s usually the characters that really draw me in and keep me reading their story. If the action is great but the characters don’t grab me, I can usually put the book down and go to sleep without a problem.

    If I’m chosen, I’d love a copy of Azazel, but I wouldn’t turn down Asmodeus either. 🙂

  22. Great interview. I’ve added both books to my to be read list. I’d love to get either of them, but if I have to pick I’d pick Azazel. 🙂

  23. Asmodeus sounds so good! Great interview! Love the cover!

  24. Rita – Yes, Ward is so good. Kresley Cole is another fav author of mine. The world she created is awesome…and hysterical. 😉

    Karin – Thanks. 🙂 Yes, the hubby puffs out his chest a little when I tell people that. He and I are still crazy about each other after all these years. When he was in Iraq and Afghanistan I could barely function.

    Ann – Wonderful. Good luck and happy reading. 🙂

  25. Amy – Thanks so much! Hope you’re staying warm. 🙂

  26. Dawn, I loved Azazel! I can’t wait to read Asmodeus!

    I think of the elements of a romance novel, I look for in depth characterizations, intense conflict and evocative scenes. While a good sex scene is ALWAYS a good thing, I look more for the emotions.

    There are quite a few characters I’ve fantasized about. Since I’ve started reviewing I’ve stayed up into the wee hours of the morning less frequently. I think I’ve become more picky and it takes a REALLY good book to ensnare my attention for that long.

    Like I mentioned before, it’s more about the emotions, the characters that attracts me.

    Happy Writing and good luck in future writing endeavors!!

  27. Denise – Thanks so much! I’m so glad you liked Azazel. 🙂

Leave a Reply

