• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please Welcome Delores Fossen

Please welcome Harlequin Intrigue Author Delores Fossen.

branded-by-the-sheriff1

Delores, Thanks for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Well, let’s see. I’m a Texan, former Air Force officer and mother of FOUR. Yes, four. Because of the Air Force, I’ve lived all over the place, including England, but right now, we’re in Mississippi.

How long have you been writing?

I’ve always written short stories and journals, even when I was a kid. When I was in 6th grade, I wrote a comic book called Dywanna, Protector of the Amazons. LOL. It was about a futurist society where men had been outlawed because the women had gotten so tired of them starting wars. I made copies and sold them to friends. I think my total profit was about two dollars. However, I didn’t start writing for “real” publication until about 12 years ago.

What is your writing process like?

The ideas just come, sometimes at the worst time (when I’m driving in traffic and I can’t find a working pen). Then, I write the first three chapters cold, by the seat of my pants, before I do a simple synopsis. The synopsis is necessary so I don’t forget the story.

Can you tell us about your newest release Branded by the Sheriff?

It’s a reunion story with a Romeo and Juliet/happily ever after ending. Here’s the back blurb:

Years ago, Sheriff Beck Tanner had believed the worst about Faith Matthews. Now she was back in their small Texas town, forcing him to question everything he thought he knew about her. And when the killer who’d murdered her family set his sights on Faith-and her innocent baby girl-Beck’s protective instincts kicked into high gear.

As dangerous pranks turned into deadly games, Beck needed Faith to trust him with the secrets of her past. And with a sadistic killer circling closer, all of Beck’s attention had to be on keeping her baby safe…and ignoring his inconvenient attraction to the beautiful mother….

Do you have any other books coming out this year?

I have four other books and a novella. (I’ve been busy <g>). Here’s the line-up:

EXPECTING TROUBLE, Feb. 2009

SECRET DELIVERY, March 2009

NEGOTIATING HER LIFE, July 2009

CAPTIVE HEARTS, eharlquin novella, August 2009

CHRISTMAS GUARDIAN, October 2009

What are you currently working on?

I’m finishing up an Intrigue, CRIME SCENE COVER-UP, a book in a new Texas Ranger trilogy that I’m doing with authors, Rita Herron and Mallory Kane. The trilogy will be out in early 2010.

I know you primarily write Romantic Suspense and Harlequin Intrigues. Do you write any other romance sub-genres?

I’ve had two western historicals published as well as two romantic comedies with Harlequin Duets.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Just about everywhere, including dreams. I’m so thankful that the ideas keep coming!

I know several of your books incorporate the theme of parents being reunited with missing children or babies, why this particular theme.

I think it’s maybe because I’m adopted. My own adoption story has been wonderful, but I keep wondering-what if I hadn’t been so lucky? Also, another reason children and babies keep popping up in my books is because I’m the mother of four. My life really revolves around kids.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I know people say this all the time, but there are so many. I read a lot of romance authors-Nora Roberts, JD Robb, Linda Howard, Susan Elizabeth Philips, Rita Herron, Jessica Andersen, Lisa Childs, Gayle Wilson, Elizabeth Lowell, Sarah Addison Allen, Isabel Sharpe, Jamie Denton….and the list goes on and on.

What books are on your keeper shelf?

Sadly, I lost all my books during Katrina in 2005 (we were stationed at Keesler AFB, MS), but I’ve been replacing them little by little. I have most of the JD Robb’s, Nora Roberts’ Montana Sky, Jennifer Crusie’s Welcome to Temptation, Linda Howard’s After the Night, Koontz’s Life Expectancy, Sarah Addison Allen’s Garden Spells and Gayle Wilson’s Heart of the Night.

Do you read books other than romance books?

Yes. I also read Dean Koontz, Stephen King and Harlan Coben.

What was the first romance book you read?

Sandra Brown’s Hidden Fires. It’s an historical with a super alpha hero.

ย If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

Wow, that’s tough. I guess I’ll go with Branded by the Sheriff, and I’d like Jeffrey Dean Morgan (Denny from Grey’s Anatomy) because that’s the face I had in mind when I was writing the book. As for the heroine, Evangeline Lilly (Kate from Lost).

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

Yikes, almost all my character get shot at so I’m not sure I’d want to be any of them. J However, I did write about the O’Malley family in my 2004 and a 2005 Intrigues, so if I had to choose, I think I’d like to be one of them-maybe Katelyn O’Malley from Veiled Intentions. She’s tough but very grounded with her family.

ย Do you have a day job?

Not these days, but my last day job was as a special ed teacher. Before that, I was a rehab counselor and before that, an Air Force officer.

Does your work inspire story ideas?

It does. I still rely on my military training and contacts when I’m writing certain books.

Are any of your characters based on real people?

Not really, but every now and then someone will say or do something, and it’ll spur an idea for a book or scene. My family’s learned to watch what they say around me. heehee

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

Genealogy. I LOVE digging back into history. I also do stained glass, and when I can, I love to travel.

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?

What kind of book would you like me to write? I’d also like to THANK them very much because without readers, I wouldn’t have the best job on earth.

ย Please leave a comment

Delores has graciously offered to give a book to five lucky winners

Winners’ choice of the following books:

NEWBORN CONSPIRACY, THE HORSEMAN’S SON,

QUESTIONING THE HEIRESS, or SECURITY BLANKET

16 Responses

  1. That’s a heck of a schedule, Delores! Wow, you continue to amaze me!

    And Jeffrey Dean Morgan! I LOVE him!!!

  2. First of all–Greta, thanks so much for having me on your blog today. ๐Ÿ™‚

    MJ, I LOVE Jeffrey Dean Morgan too. I just watched him in PS I Love You, and I think he’s even hotter than ever.

    Delores

  3. Great interview. I love your books. I love it when you incorporate western aspects in your novels.

  4. Greta, What a great interview!!!! you are doing such a wonderful job of that.!!!!

    Delores your name sounds so familar but I can’t think of any book I might have read of yours.They sound intriguing especially this one.

    Any advice for those who want to write but sometimes family and life just won’t allow much time?

    Any books/authors that really helped you?

    hugs,
    WendyK

  5. My husband is a special ed teacher ๐Ÿ™‚ takes a special person to do that!

    This new book looks good. I love me some sheriff!

    And jumping on the bandwagon. Jeffrey Dean Morgan… very hot!

    Wonderful interview – thanks!

  6. Thanks, Crystal. I do love those cowboys. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Wendy, as for writing–I do a work schedule, and I stick to it. When I was teaching or working outside the home, I wouldn’t have taken a personal call or done personal errands during duty hours. I don’t do that during my writing-work hours either. My kids have learned not to interupt my working time unless it’s REALLY REALLY important.

    Of course, my kids are older now, but when they were little, I had Christmas lights strung around my office door. (Yes, I know that sounds tacky ) If the lights were on, then Mom was working.

    As for books that have helped, the one that comes to mind is Stephen King’s ON WRITING. The book didn’t have an grand advice that sticks out, but it helped to know that even big name authors struggle with the craft and discipline of writing.

    Take care!

    Delores

  7. Lori–bless your husband!! Special ed is one of the hardest jobs ever. It’s also one of the most rewarding. I have an autistic son, so sometimes I felt as if I never had any down time. Still, I loved those kiddos. They were indeed special in more ways than one.

    Delores

  8. Branded by the Sheriff sounds great! Loved the interview…
    I see you wrote 2 Duets and I’m pretty sure I read both of them… I love Duets am I the only person who misses them?

  9. Rhonda, thank you! I loved writing for Duets and miss them too. I could read one in just a couple of hours, and they were always so uplifting. I knew I’d be in a good mood when the book was done.

    It’s so funny you mentioned Duets because just yesterday a Duets plot came to mind, and it was fully plotted–with names and everything. I could see it so clearly. Too bad the plot is five years too late. LOL.

    Delores

  10. Enjoyed the interview today and I can’t believe all the releases you have coming up this year! Congrats!

  11. Hi Delores and Greta! Great interview!

    I am a BIG fan of Delores’s books so it is great to see her here.

    As for what kind of book I’d like you to write, I kind of like what you are doing now…love the intrigues. And one of my favorite series is the Five Alarm Babies series…I even got my mom hooked on those books.

    I can’t wait for the upcoming books!

  12. Great interview!

    Sounds like this will be a busy year for you, Delores.

  13. Hi Delores,

    Very informative interview. You mentioned that you have written 2 western historicals. I am a big fan of historicals but the English Regency period is my favorite along with American Civil War & American Revolution. Have you ever considered writing books set in those time periods?

  14. Teresa, I’ve been busy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Jennifer–thank you so much. And thanks for getting your mom hooked on the books. I really enjoyed writing the Five Alarm series, and I ended up with some awesome covers. The Horseman’s Son is my all time favorite cover.

    Karin, I’m just so thankful to have a contract. Thanks!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Karen, I would love to write an American historical set in Victorian New Orleans. There was so much going on in the 1880s in that part of the US. I love the Civil War period too, but there are SO FEW books set during that time.

    Take care!

    Delores

  15. Hello, Great interview I really enjoyed it. You are a new author to me, and I am very impressed. Your books sound wonderful. You have accomplished so much in life and you are still hiking down the road of success. WTG.

  16. Sara, thanks so much!

    Delores

Leave a Reply

