• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Anne Rainey is visiting today

I am so excited that Anne Rainey has agreed to be my guest today.

Anne, Thanks for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

Hi, Greta! Thanks for having me here!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Well, I’ve been happily (most of the time) married for 15 years. I have two daughters, Kati is 15 and Alisha is 13. I grew up the only girl with three older brothers, all outdoorsmen and all work with their hands. So, I was surrounded by Alpha  males from the time I was born. LOL Sheltered doesn’t even begin to describe my upbringing. To start with, one of my brothers beat up a kid for teasing me. My other brother followed me to a bar when I went out with friends for the first time…and stayed the entire night giving all the guys dirty looks. Needless to say I went home alone. LOL Imagine their surprise to find out their baby sis is writing erotic romance! Oh yeah, that was a fun conversation!

How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing since about 2004, seriously writing since about 2006. I say seriously because at first I treated it as a hobby. When I became serious about getting published, that’s when the real work started.  

What is your writing process like?

This is easy. I get up at 6am every morning. I iron my husband’s clothes for work. I get my kids up, breakfasts, let the dogs out to potty, and then I drive the kids to school (our busing system is crap). I get all that out of the way around 7:45am. I sit down at the computer and check email first, go through and make a list of things that need my immediate attention, then I start writing around 8:30am. I stop when it’s time to pick the kids up from school at 2:00pm. After that, I’m usually busy with dinner, homework, chores, errands, etc. I’m not usually back at the computer in the evenings unless it’s to check email or update Twitter or something silly like that. If I have galleys though, I will work longer into the evening. I like to be on time with my deadlines!

Please tell us about your novella Scandalous Behavior. I saw on your website that this is book one of the Haines series.

Hmm, I think I need to update my site. I had originally planned to make it a series, but plans have changed. It may be a stand alone. We’ll see if readers like any secondary characters enough to insist on a sequel though. 😉

Secrets 25 Wicked Delight

Secrets 25 Wicked Delight

here’s a blurb for ya all!

Tess Marley is tired of her dull life. She wants to take a walk on the wild side. Who better to teach her about wicked pleasures than her intriguing boss, Kevin Haines?

Five years of secretly lusting after him is enough. She wants to see if Kevin is all she’s dreamed he would be. But Tess knows she’s made an awful mistake when she crosses the line between lust and love.

I know you have written contemporary romances, and erotic romances, do you write in any other romance sub-genre? If not would you like to and if so what sub-genres?

I’ve written one vampire romance, steamy, and it was a lot of fun. That one is called “A Diamond at Midnight. I really had a blast playing with the paranormal world so I plan to try my hand at a shifter story next.  A shifter ménage, highly erotic, full length. I’m really excited about that story. Think twins, mated to the same woman. There will be fighting, controversy, a lot of sex and some seriously badass heroes. Can you say, HOT?!

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Everywhere. Truthfully, an idea will spark because of something my 21 yr. old niece will say. Sometimes it’s something I see while sitting at a restaurant. I’m a people watcher and even when I don’t realize it, I’m getting ideas for future stories.

Do your characters talk to you? If so who talks the most heroes or heroines?

I always hear my heroes the most. They tend to override everyone else. LOL! Maybe it’s because I grew up surrounded my men. When I’m really into a story, scenes will play out in my head, not all of them will make it onto the keyboard, but my characters are always playing and acting naughty. I can’t stop it. Then again, I’m not sure I want to!

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I read both romance and thrillers. Right now I’m reading Lora Leigh’s “Aiden’s Charity”, but I’m also reading Greg Iles’ September release, “Third Degree”. Also, I love a book that has both romantic suspense, and erotic love scenes. A fantastic example is Jaid Black’s “One Dark Night”. Excellent book with a hot hero! Read it if you haven’t already!

What books are on your keeper shelf?

Sandra Brown, Linda Howard, Erin McCarthy, Greg Iles, Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Lora Leigh, Shannon McKenna, and a whole bunch more. I’ve always been and will always be a die-hard reader!

Do you read books other than romance books?

LOL! I think I answered that above, but yes. I started reading mysteries, which led to suspense/thrillers. I didn’t move over to romantic suspense and erotic romance until after my kids were born.

What was the first romance book you read?

Madeline Baker. A Native American historical romance. I read all her books! Somehow I picked up a Jayne Anne Krentz and slowly left historicals behind for contemporary.

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

I think my vampire romance “A Diamond at Midnight would make a great movie. Cool fight scenes, sexy love scenes, a terrific bad guy, and of course a happy ending!

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

Oh wow, I’d sooooo switch with Ally. She’s the character in my upcoming Samhain release, Burn. Hot, hot story! She’s an author and she gets to enact a little revenge on her high school sweetheart. How fun, right?

What are you currently working on?

“Tempting Grace”, and yes I’m behind! LOL it’s tough to get anything done with the holidays upon us. Anyway, “Tempting Grace” is the fourth story in my Vaughn series. Grace has a sharp wit, which I adore, and she’s up against an older, harder, ex-marine. She doesn’t stand a chance! Jackson has some pretty wicked ideas, let me tell ya. Let’s hope my editor lets me keep these wicked scenes, because I really think readers will love them! 😉

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

I do enjoy exercising, hiking in the woods with my daughters, also I’m a sucker for Victoria’s Secrets and Bath and Body Works. I also sketch a little, nature scenes mostly, but that’s for my eyes only. J

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be?

I would like readers to honestly tell me what they’d like to see me write next. A ménage, a paranormal, something a little more wicked like BDSM. You tell me!  

 ***Leave a comment for a chance to win a print copy of Secrets 25 Wicked Delight***

51 Responses

  1. Hi Anne! Hi Greta! I got to meet Anne in Ohio back in June – she’s lovely! I love all her books.

    To answer your question – MENAGE! Heh!

    Valerie
    😀

  2. Thanks so much for having me here today, Greta!! 🙂
    and anyone who leaves comments will be entered to win a PRINT copy of Secrets 25! 🙂

  3. Hi Anne:

    Excellent interview and your stories sound amazing. I am going to head over right now and put “A Diamond At Midnight”, on my list. I love paranormal vampire romances.

    In answer to your question, like Valerie I am very partial to ménage stories and would definitely be attracted to a book with that theme.

    All the best for the festive season Anne!
    Nice to chat with you. 🙂

  4. Hello Anne, Personally I love BDSM but it could be a Menage BDSM that would really be cool. Hope you have a great day. And will be looking to pick up A Diamond At Midnight ASAP.
    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Dianna

  5. hello. great post Anne. I havent read any of your books yet but am going to change that in the near future. For your next book I think it should be a paranormal menege. best of both worlds that way.

  6. Valerie–thanks for coming over! A menage, huh? I think that can be arranged. 😉

    Lea–Thanks for adding my vampire romance to your list. I really did enjoy Cain and Diamonique, they were great fun to write! I hope you enjoy it!

    Sara–a paranormal menage? You’re speaking my language!

  7. Great interview, Anne, and I can’t wait to read Volume 25. I’m only up to 23 right now, but you’re destined for my TBR pile. 🙂

  8. Dianna–I’ll tell you a secret, I actually have a story that I’m working on that will be a BDSM menage…hehe. Great minds think alike, huh?

  9. Anne,

    What a great interview! You’re a hard-working lady. Sounds like you’ve got a lot of great stories out already, with more to come!

    I am really partial to paranormals, so I’m looking forward to your next book in that genre.

    Best of luck to you!

    Saralee

  10. Hi Anne! It’s been awhile since we’ve “talked”. Your new release sounds great and I know you’ve been waiting on this release for a long time, or it seems like it’s been a long time since you first told us about it. I’ll look forward to reading it. Hope you and your family have a Merry Christmas!

  11. Hi Anne! I just ahd to pop over and read your interview because I love your writing so much. I steal time every night to read and your books are right up there on my keeper shelf. So keep kocking them out, lady! You rocvk!

  12. Anne:

    I not only enjoy reading your books, but love the ‘photos’ you post and enjoy your chats.
    hagd

  13. Hi Anne! What about an urban fantasy, sexy witch who falls in love with a were-tiger or something. LOL

    Deidre

  14. Saralee–Thanks for taking time to comment! I do have a story idea in mind. A shifter menage, full length. Does that concept work for you? 🙂

    Lisa–Thanks so much for stopping by! Yes, I’ve waited forever, I first wrote this story back in 2004, so I’m sure my writing style has changed a lot since then, but this story is so special to me. It’s my baby! *hugs*

    Judith–Knowing I’m on your keeper shelf has my head spinning. That’s a great honor coming from someone of your talent! Thank you!

  15. Debbie–Thanks so much for your kind words! As to the photos, I aim to make the world a brighter place via hunk pix! hehe!

    Deidre–Thanks for stopping by. Urban Fantasy, wow. I love reading it but I’m so not worthy to write it! The authors in that genre have my highest respect, they really do. 🙂

  16. Congratulations on your new print book and hopefully it will the first of many more to come.

    I hope you’ll finish Tempting Grace on time but I’m sure you will LOL

  17. I vote for a paranormal menage.

    (Yeah I know..I am greedy asking for two but you ask.
    😉

  18. HI Anne, and Greta.
    I can’t comment on your questions but I did I want to say what a great interview. I haven’t yet read your books but I will want to.

    hugs,
    WendyK

  19. Hi Anne,
    As you know, I’m an avid fan of yours and have been from the beginning.
    I love how you write, how the characters are devloped , the humor and of course the sexy bits.
    I’m voting for you next write to be a little naughty and include some BSDM with a menage you say??? Even better!!
    Hugs, Lynn

  20. Hi Anne! You know how much I love your books and I know I’m going to love Wicked Delight as well. What I’d like to see is menage BDSM.

    BTW: great interview!

  21. Moran–Thanks for stopping by! I’m really close to finishing Tempting Grace I can taste it! LOL

    Chris–LOL! If you’re greedy, then so am I! 🙂

    WendyK–Thanks for stopping by!

  22. Hi Anne and Greta,
    I like the sound of the Tempting Grace book.
    I love the Contemporary line so I’d say write them. Thanks.
    Happy holidays to you and yours.

  23. I already know that you write menage Oh So Well ; ) But I would LOVE to see where your wildly inspired mind would go with a paranormal menage! The possibilities are endless Hehe

  24. Hi Anne!
    I’ll take anything that you write!
    Congrats on your new release. I can’t wait to get my hands on it!

  25. RobynL–Thanks for commenting. I’m a fan of contemps too and I just don’t think there’s enough steamy contemps out there. I aim to fix that! 🙂

    Stephanie–Thanks for the kind words! A paranormal menage does sound delicious, huh? You guys are convincing me to get writing that one!

    Jodi S–*blushing* Thanks! I’m so lucky to have readers like you!

  26. Happy Holidays! I would like to see you write a paranormal. Thanks.

  27. Lynn–Wow! It’s been forever since we’ve chatted. Hope all is well with you! Yep, a menage BDSM, sexy, huh? 🙂

    Barb L–Thanks for stopping by! I’m seeing that no matter what, it HAS to be a menage! LOL

    Beth–Thanks and Happy Holidays to you as well! Paranormal is a lot of fun and I would so enjoy doing more. Thanks for the comment. 🙂

  28. Oh look, I didn’t even have to type in my name, it knew me.
    Great questions and great answers.

    autobuy books, I do that, I preorder books I like

    tata for now

  29. Saroya–LOL! Thanks for commenting. At first I didn’t see your comment but I did a ‘hard refresh’ and it showed! 🙂

  30. great interview

  31. Great interview. What ever you write next is fine with me

  32. Angie–Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    Debby–Thanks!! 😀

  33. Hi Anne,

    I love all your books. I’d like to see a paranormal, menage.

  34. Julie–Hey! Thanks for coming over! A paranormal menage can be arranged! 😉

  35. Thanks for the invite, but my computer broke!! I ran the keys off the keyboard!! LMAO So I’ll be lurking when I can beg, borrow or steal some computer time ; ((

  36. Great interview, Greta and Anne! 🙂

    I’d love to see you write a paranormal, Anne. I do love those paranormals!

  37. Hi, Anne! Thanks for taking the time for the interview! I loved Touching Lace and Tasting Candy and am thrilled to see that you’ve got books 3 and 4 lined up. But seriously, not until next June?! Clearly I’m not a patient person! ;p I think I’ll have to pick up the rest of your stuff in the meantime–Burn sounds especially hot! The revenge theme can be so delicious! And for the vote, I’m up for anything, but is there any chance you could write any faster? 😉 (kidding, really!)

  38. Regina–OH NO! I’m so sorry about your computer! Ack! Hope you can get it fixed soon!

    Cynthia–Thanks SO much for stopping by and commenting. I’m so thrilled to be in this anthology with you! 🙂

    Fedora–LOL! The exciting news is that Touching Lace and Tasting Candy will be out in print next April. The title is Seduce Me. So you can pick that up and re’read the first two while you wait for June to arrive! 😀 And in the meantime I shall make every effort to write faster! hehe!

  39. Fabulous interview! Hi Anne! I am looking forward to reading your story!

  40. Hi Anne! So nice to see you here. LOL

    Do paranormal and I promise I’ll read it! :0)

  41. I do hope Scandalous Behavior is the start of another great series for Secrets. As for the rest, surprise me.

  42. Great interview! Scandalous Behavior sounds great!

  43. I would love to read this

  44. I’d like to see a paranormal menage too!

    Wishing you a very merry holiday season!

  45. I love the Secrets series. They have the best authors. 🙂 As far as what we’d like to see next, I am eager to read the shifter menage you mentioned.

  46. Dang it. I just NOW found out you were over here giving a spectacular interview. Verrrry interesting. FUnny what you can discover about your friends! lol

  47. Hi Anne! I love reading m/f/m menages and thinking about a theme I like, and thats best friends to lovers stories where they take that step over changing the friendship for a relationship, not wanting to hurt that if it didn’t work out. And then putting it within a menage relationship too! I don’t know where that all came from suddenly, LOL

    SCANDALOUS BEHAVIOR sounds so sizzling!!!

  48. Hi Anne,
    i would love to see either a wolf or panther paranormal or menage….with some bdsm that would be cool…heck some of all of it mixed together …..that would be great!!

  49. Anne, I may just have to pick up the new Secrets if you and Cynthia are BOTH in it! What a treat! I love that your books have such diverse elements and that you have a wonderfully wicked way of turning a plot. I think you would be great at melding all of those genres…how about a para/BDSM/menage? Hey, throw in some time travel while you’re at it….maybe some suspense…. Is that too long a list?

    Your schedule sounds much like mine (minus the ironing….mine WAS a Marine so he actually irons better than I), so I’d better get back to it. Have a creative day!

    Heather
    http://www.blazeofbeauty.com

  50. What a great interview. Anne is awesome and I’m so glad I met her at Lori’s! Her books ROCK!

  51. Hey, sweetie! Better late, than never? I love the shifters–all that hot, feral male yumminess 😉 . One, two, three….whatever sparks your imagination, girlfriend!!

    BTW, do you know what an evil cow says??

    MOOOhahahahahahaha!!!

    *ducks and runs back to her hidey hole*

Leave a Reply

