• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please Welcome Sasha White

My guest today is the amazing Sasha White.

Sasha, Thanks for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

Hi Greta! Thanks for asking me! I’m excited. *g*

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Sure.  I guess the place to start is that I’m bit of a an eclectic soul.  I’ve had many jobs, and been many places.  I thrive on change, and under pressure, yet I also need my down time.  I’ve an ongoing battle with weightloss and I have strong love/hate feelings about being single.  It all depends on what day you talk to me.

How long have you been writing?

That’s a super hard question for me to answer, simply because I’ve never thought of myself as someone who always wanted to be a writer, yet when I was 12 years old I told my Mom I was going to write a book someday.  I never thought about writing again until I was 25, then I gave some brief thoughts becoming a travel writer so I could pay to travel the world.  I wrote a couple of travel articles that year, then moved onto something else.  It was 7 years later when I decided that I didn’t want to be 40 years old and still dependent on tips to support myself (I’ve always been a waitress/bartender) so I got serious.  I didn’t want to go back to school at 34 years old, and I decided I’d give writing a try.  That was just under 5 years ago.  As an avid reader, I thought why not?  Turns out I have a knack for it.

What is your writing process like?

I don’t really have a process.  Or maybe I should say the process is different for every book I write?  Sometimes ideas cook in my head for a while before I start putting them on the computer.  Sometimes I can sit down with no firm idea in mind, and just write, and it flows like magic.  I don’t write every day, (I wish I did) and I don’t do plot charts or character analysis on paper.  I think of myself as an organic writer…and by that I mean I really have no real clue as to how I do this, other than to plant my butt in the chair and get my fingers tapping on the keyboard.

my-prerogative1You’ve had several releases the past couple of months – can you tell us about them?

I have several publishers, and while in theory that should mean I have a pretty steady release schedule, it doesn’t.  For me personally my books tend to come out in clumps for some reason.  In Sept MY PREROGATIVE hit stores. It’s a contemporary erotic from Berkley heat, about a woman who is a little non-traditional and a little wild, but deep down, she wants what we all want.  Someone to love and accept her for who she truly is.

 

In Oct I had two releases. One was Alluring Tales 2: HOT HOLIDAY NIGHTS Myself and 6 other women who I value dearly as friends and peers formed a group called the ALLURE AUTHORS.  And since we write in various sub-genres of romance and erotic romance, we created a short story collection.  HOT HOLIDAY NIGHTS is the second collection (published by Avon) and it’s got a story from each of us. So 7 short stories.  Mine is a sci-fi-ish one, about a female Dominatrix who makes a wish on a falling star, and it comes true. 

 

Also in October was the print release of SECRET THOUGHTS from Samhain publishing.  SECRET THOUGHTS is a collection of very hot, erotica short shorts. (of which I have several stories in)  I collected the stories from writers I respect, and packaged them and took the idea to Samhain. There are 2 Secret Thoughts eBook collections, and they were combined to create the print one.  So, if you like very hot sexy short, short stories for when you don’t have a lot of time, or just want a steamy treat before bed, that’s the book you want. *g*

primal-male-12061Most recently is PRIMAL MALE, my December release from Kensington.  PRIMAL MALE is the sequel to SEXY DEVIL, and it has psychics, shape-shifters, suspense and hot sex…with a little romance thrown in*wink*

I know you have written paranormal romances, contemporary romances, and erotic romances, do you write in any other romance sub-genre? If not would you like to and if so what sub-genres?

I’ve written a couple of Sci-fi short stories, too.  I’d have to say sci-fi/futuristic is the only other genre sub-genre I’d feel comfortable playing in.  And who knows? You might see something in that genre from me soon.

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

My imagination.

Do you characters talk to you? If so who talks the most heroes or heroines?

Nope, my characters don’t talk to me. I don’t see things in my head like a movie.  I just decide to write a story and then I sit and do it.  I do get to know the characters more as I write, but I think that’s because I don’t plot or plan very well.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I read everything from Harry Potter to Lee Child.  Auto buy authors for me would be Kelley Armstrong, Lee Child, Patricia Briggs (her Mercy books) Cathryn Fox and Janet Evanovich.  My tastes change, but those are authors I always keep up with.

What books are on your keep shelf?

IT HAD TO BE YOU by Susan E Phillips, ONE SUMMER Karen Robards, All of the Stephanie Plum books, all of the Mercy Thomspon books. I have most of the Eve Dallas books, and Carrie Vaughn’s Kitty books.  I also have most of Lee Childs Reacher books and most of the ROGUE ANGLE series.

Do you read books other than romance books?

Yes, In fact, I rarely read straight romance books.  I like the cross-genre books. I love a romance in it, but for the last couple years I’ve mostly been reading books that are also suspense or paranormal as well. 

What was the first romance book you read?

Do the SWEET VALLEY HIGH books count? What about Archie comic books? LOL

I don’t remember the first romance, but I do remember reading my Grandma’s copies of Harlequin Presents and I was about 15 when the Blaze line started, and I began reading them.   I’ve always liked the sexy books best. LOL

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

SEXY DEVIL, and the stories connected to it (PRIMAL MALE)

In my mind Gina Devlin looked like a picture of Alyssa Milano from a layout in FHM magazine.  Caleb Mann would probably be the guy who plays Colby on the TV show numbers. (Can’t think of his name at the moment) For Drake I’d love to see Simon Baker.  In my mind Devil looks sort of like Antonie Sabato Jr, with dark hair and eyes, and such, but his attitude is more bad boy Jensen Ackles.*drool*

Jewel, I’d love to see Selma Hyack or Michelle Rodriguez.  Melissa Montrose would be a tough one.  Probably an unknown to me actress. She’d have to be the right fit though.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

Oh, that answer varies on different days, for different reasons.

What are you currently working on?

I’m not writing anything right now.  I’m sort of taking a break, refilling my creative well, focusing on health issues, and dabbling with my photography.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

Photography, movies, playing pool, working out. 

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be?

How can I thank you for making it possible for me to get paid to do something I love?

Thanks for the interview, Greta! I hope I made sense.

18 Responses

  1. Hi Sasha!

    What a thrill to be able to chat with you. It was actually Greta that introduced me to your work and I have a copy of “Sexy Devil” at home waiting to be read.

    You certainly are a prolific author and I will add your other books to my list. I’ve read nothing but wonderful things about your stories.

    All the very best for the festive season. 🙂

  2. Sasha, congratulations on “Primal Male.” I know it’s going to do great. Can’t wait to read it myself.

    Deidre

  3. Great Interview Greta!
    Always love to learn more about my Fav authors – like Sasha!!
    Lets see Sasha – “How can you thank us readers” – keep writing the way you do. A great book is always thanks enough 😉

  4. Another great interview Greta! I love Sasha’s books and enjoyed your interview!

  5. I have Primal Male waiting for me to read on my shelf. I have really enjoyed your books so far Sasha.

    Thanks again for a great interview Greta.

  6. HI Lea! I’m glad you’ve enjoyed the books you have read, and I hope you like SEXY DEVIL. I love the characters in that series (as you can tell since I’ve continued it with PRIMAL MALE and Gabe, (you’ll meet him in Sexy Devil gets his own story this summer).

    Thanks for dropping by.
    Sasha

  7. Hi Deidre! Thanks for the well wishes!!

  8. Hi Laurie! Keep writing huh? Okay, I think I might be able to do that. It might not be as fast and furious as before…but I’ll keep at it. *wink*

  9. Glad you enjoyed the interview, Rhonda.

  10. Hey Brndy! I hope you enjoy Primal Male just as much as the others!! Can;t wait to hear what you think.

  11. ACK! I missed the A in Brandy. *blush*

    Sorry.

  12. I knew what you meant. 😉

  13. Sasha, I just adore your work. DH does to. I just recieved Primal Male, can not wait to read it.

    *smooches*

  14. Hi Deb! I’m glad to hear both you and your Hubby are enjoying the stories. *grin*

  15. This was a great interview, Greta! I definitely learned some new things about Sasha and I look forward to reading her December release.

  16. Great interview Sasha and Greta!

    How can you thank us readers…well, by simply continuing to do what you do so well! Writing wonderful books for us to read.

  17. Great interview, Sasha and Greta! And I remember Sweet Valley High! Those and the Silhouette First Love were probably the first romances I read. 🙂

  18. Wonderful interview! I am a big fan of Sasha’s books!

Leave a Reply

