• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Moira Rogers is here today

Please Welcome Moira Rogers – well Bree & Donna (confusing yes) but they will explain 🙂

Moira, Thanks for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.

Donna:  Thanks for having us, Greta!

Bree:  Yes, especially since we’re twice the trouble.  😀

First off – I know Moira Rogers is the pen name for Bree & Donna, how did that come about?

Bree: We’ve both been writing separately for years, but we never seemed to finish anything.  The start was great…we loved plotting together and coming up with ideas, but then it seemed less fun to go off and write them on our own.

Donna:  With all the plotting (which can be the hardest part) we’d done together, trying to write something in tandem seemed like the next logical step.  So we gave it a shot.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about each of you?

Bree: I’m a programmer and geek princess.  I always want the latest tech toys (though I try to be responsible sometimes.)  I love web work and graphic design, and just about every kind of craft.

Donna:  I’m a stay-at-home mom with two little ones and a background in nursing and forensic science.  I like to divide my spare time between television, music and movies and crazy craft projects like quilting and soap making.

How long have you been writing together?

Donna:  We’ve been submitting things for publication for about a year now. But we started co-writing about a year before that, just practicing and making sure we could write seamlessly.

What is your writing process like?

Bree: Complicated, which is why it took a year of playing around before we decided we were ready to try this stuff for real.  We are both very possessive of the characters we come up with, and it seemed clear that we would run into characterization problems pretty quickly if we both tried to write every one of them.  So we each handle the major dialogue and decisions for our characters.

Donna:  We do a lot of plotting and character development on the phone while we’re cooking or wandering the grocery store aisles.  As far as the actual writing goes, we’re always throwing stuff back and forth via email. Sometimes we’ll add a few pages, and sometimes only a line or two.

You’ve had several releases the past couple of months, as well new e-book Virgin Daiquiri coming out on Thursday – can you tell us about them?

Virgin Daiquire

Virgin Daiquire

Donna:  Virgin Daiquiri is the fourth book in the Last Call series, a collection of hot paranormal erotic shorts centered around a bar in NYC which caters to supernaturals looking for satisfaction.  This installment tells the story of Leo, a demon who’d rather play than work, and Caitlin, a psychic who needs to get rid of her virginity–and fast.

As far as the last few months, we’ve had the rest of the Last Call series at Changeling, as well as our first paranormal romance release at Samhain. It’s called Cry Sanctuary, and it’s the first in our Red Rock Pass series. It’s about a world where werewolves have secretive packs, and not all the alphas are benevolent.

I know you have written paranormal romances, contemporary romances, and erotic romances, do you write in any other romance sub-genre? If not would you like to and if so what sub-genres?

Bree: We have toyed with both historical–with paranormal–and suspense… uhh… with paranormal.  Okay, maybe I have an addiction to paranormal.

Donna:  Paranormal romance fascinates us because it offers such a great opportunity to explore diversity while also focusing on one of the most common threads of humanity–loving, and wanting to be loved.  So, for us, it’s less about how these characters are different.  It’s about how they’re the same as us.

Bree: Plus, werewolves with guns?  Super hot!

Where do you get your ideas for your books?

Bree: I think a lot of them come because we have a certain character we want to write about.  Recently Donna felt a strong need for a hero quite literally haunted by his past.  And I am obsessed with my quest for a home for my vampire lumberjack.

Do you characters talk to you? If so who talks the most heroes or heroines?

Donna:  The characters absolutely talk to me.  Not in a crazy way, mind you, but they let me know when they want a story told.  As for which category is the most talkative, I’d say it’s a toss-up.

Bree: My heroes are grumpy and loud.  And grumpy.  I don’t hold conversations with them, but sometimes I express a need to punch them in the head, which might be a bit crazier, no?  😉

As an author, you must be an avid readers. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

Bree: I am a romantic fantasy/urban fantasy NUT.  Kelley Armstrong, Patricia Briggs, Anne Bishop, Carrie Vaughn… I will snatch anything they write right off the shelves.

Donna:  I’m more romance and horror.  Kay Hooper, Deborah Smith and Nora Roberts are big romance reads for me.  More recently, I’ve read everything Linda Winfree has written.  She does great romantic suspense.  And Stephen King will always be my favorite horror author.  What a great storyteller!

Bree: Oh yes, Linda Winfree is dangerous.  She’s been luring me away from my paranormal books into the world of romantic suspense, and I’m getting a little hooked.

What books are on your keep shelf?

Bree: This is embarrassing to admit… but I have four (yes, 4) copies of Anne Bishop’s “Dream’s Made Flesh” hidden throughout my apartment.  People kept borrowing it and losing it and I’d freak out and buy another one, then everyone brought them back.  But since it is my comfort book, it’s nice to know it’s never far away.  😉

Donna:  I have one of those copies, Bree.  I found it today, actually.  My keeper shelf includes old Harlequins and Loveswepts (remember those?) by a variety of authors.  And I will never be without a set of the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  Ever.

Do you read books other than romance books?

Donna:  I like everything from children’s books to nonfiction history. Right now, I’m reading Sense & Sensibility by Jane Austen…again.

Bree: I read lots of fantasy and some sci-fi, though I will admit I always wanted more romance in those. 😉 I like to read a lot of odd books, ranging from the theory of building userfriendly computer applications to biographies. I am also fascinated by Phillipa Gregory’s Tudor era fiction.

What was the first romance book you read?

Donna:  I think the first actual romance I read was a Harlequin Temptation by Gina Wilkins.  But, if you ask me, the first romance I read was The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare.  Oooh, Nat Eaton.  He made my little fifth grade heart flutter.

Bree: I can’t remember the first time I read a book that came out of the romance section, but I remember the first time I had fluttery little hearts and a happy sigh that THIS was love.  Now, don’t laugh at me… but it was A Wrinkle In Time and I thought Calvin O’Keefe was the perfect hero.  He loved Meg so much!

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?

Donna:  Bree and I usually do actor/model casting for our stuff anyway, just because it’s easier that way to keep the physical attributes straight and make sure we’re both on the same page.  When we were writing Cry Sanctuary, we had a quiet Anna Paquin and scruffy Dylan McDermott in mind as the “leads.”  I think that book would make a good movie.  Lots of action.  😉

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

Bree: Oh wow, that’s a tough question!  I think I’d pick Abby from Cry Sanctuary.  Her life wasn’t easy, but she certainly found a place where she belonged, and Keith’s not too shabby either.  😉

Donna:  I think I’d switch lives with Kat from the Southern Arcana series. Her bosses are hot, and her crush is a babe and a half.  Plus, we have such fun things planned for her…

What are you currently working on?

Donna:  Right now, we’re hard at work on the third Red Rock Pass book, the sequel to Crux, the last book in the Down & Dirty trilogy, and the first title in a Last Call spinoff series.  Wow, we’re busy.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?

Bree: What is this… ‘spare time’ you speak of?  Do they sell it on Amazon? It sounds nice.  😀

If you could ask readers any one question, what would it be?

Donna:  I’d want to ask what their ideal vision of a hero is.  I’d like to see if it dovetails with mine, or if I really just like completely random things.  😉

Bree:  I’d ask them what I should name my vampire lumberjack.  LOL  Maybe I should solicit reader suggestions…

 ***Leave a comment for a chance to win Moira’s upcoming release Virgin Daiquiri***

Winner will be announce Thursday morning

15 Responses

  1. I love Moira Rogers! Bree and Donna rock! I have never seen two writers work together for so long, STILL like each other, and write books that are awesome!

  2. These are some really busy ladies. Keep up the good work!

    Deidre

  3. Another great interview Greta! You’re a natural!

    Bree and Donna are great and I love talking to them over at the Samhain loop! 🙂

  4. Hi ladies! I am new to your work. Great post and interview!!!!

    hugs,
    WendyK

  5. Hi Donna and Bree!

    So nice to chat with you. Your books sound wonderful and I love the title of “Virgin Daiquiri”, the cover art is beautiful.

    My ideal vision of a hero is the guy who is strong minded and tough, willing to put it out there for the heroine but also sensitive to her needs. I have to say though, I like a tough heroine too that gives her man a run for his money. lol

    Vampire lumberjack? That’s a new one, and I thought I’d read just about every vamp there is out there. lol Um, how about Rafe or Seth?

    Great Interview. I’ve added your book to my list.
    All the very best for the festive season. 🙂

  6. A vampire lumberjack? Sounds quite interesting. I’d love to hear more about that. How about Samsom “The Pole” Cromwell.

  7. Great interview Bree and Donna. You couninue to throw out fasinating things I didn’t know about your selves. I still don’t know how in the world you can turn out so many Fantastic books so quickly.

    A vampire lumberjack hero shouldn’t have a name that suggest to strongly of the vampire side. How about a take off on Paul Bunyon?
    Maybe Paul Night since he likes the night, with a nickname of Axe. Or just Axe Night.

    Sandie

  8. Both of you picked two of my first romance books, A Wrinkle in Time and Witch of Blackbird Pond. I had the pleasure of giving my copies to my neice last year for her birthday.

    As for my heroes, I love the strong alpha types, smart, funny, loyal, who adores the woman in his life and treats her like a partner.

  9. I recently started reading their books and so far LOVE LOVE LOVE them! I cannot wait for more, it’s not just the paranormal guys so give it a try!

  10. Donna, I have to totally agree with you about Nat Eaton. Totally.

    Bree & Donna, I’m loving all of your books and look forward to all the new ones you’re working on.

  11. hehe, no spare time for you guys either, huh? I’ll make a killing if I can ever find a way to sell spare time on ebay.

  12. Hi, Bree and Donna! Thanks for the great interview! I like heroes who have strong character–willing to work hard, stick to their guns even if it’s a tough choice, and ideally somewhat intelligent and funny. Tall, dark, and handsome are nice, but the rest is more important! And a vamp lumberjack? Hmm… Definitely haven’t read one of those before! 😉 Something short and strong sounding–I like Lea’s suggestions. Or Conall, Raul, or… must think on it more 🙂

  13. Great interview. I love Moira Rogers. their stories are sooooo good. I would have to think about your vampire lumberjack’s name a little longer. All the things that you are working on sound great. I can’t wait for the Red Rock Pass third book to come out. I have read both books in this series so far and absolutely loved it.

  14. Wow, so many replies since I checked yesterday! Greta, you throw a swinging party. Thanks so much for having us!

    Kim: LOL! Yes, Donna and I have the advantage of already knowing how to fight with each other from long years of being the next thing to sisters. I’d be lying if I said we always get along…but we always get over it when we do fight. 😉

    Deidre: Thank you! We are busy, but we’re lucky to love what we do.

    Jambrea: Greta is a natural! She asks great questions and makes it so effortless. 🙂

    WendyK: Hello there! If the interview is great, it’s all thanks to Greta. LOL

    Lea: I’m with you on the tough heroine! We love it when a heroine can give her hero a run for his money…and then some! 😀

    Brandy: The vampire lumberjack is hopefully going to make an appearance in the third Red Rock book, which we’re working on now. I actually have family who worked in the lumber camps in northern Maine in the early 1900s, so I’m very excited to put all the tales I’ve heard to good use.

    Sandie: I am trying to convince Donna to let me name the lumberjack Paul, but she’s resistant! You’ll have to help me talk her around, huh?

    Cathy: I LOVE A Wrinkle in Time. I love Calvin O’Keefe in general. I think I read every last one of L’Engle’s books as a child. She wrote about all different kinds of love… romantic, family and friendship, but she always did it so well.

    Dayanna: Hello, my friend with the oddest luck in the world! 😉 Now don’t go buying this book Thursday morning because you know if you do, Greta will pick your name. LOL

    Karin: Thank you! It’s so nice to hear people are enjoying the stuff I avoid sleep to write. 😀

    zoewinters: If you find a way to sell spare time on ebay, I am handing you my credit cards. LOL Though I suppose if I were that rich, I could hire myself some free time with a cook and a maid…

    Fedora: I love the intelligent and funny heroes, too! That’s why Connor from Kamikaze is one of my favorites. I can’t say no to a smart, snarky techie werewolf. Ever.

    Lexee: Aww, thank you! And keep thinking on that vampire lumberjack’s name… we may have to hold a vote on our blog to decide what it’s going to be. LOL

  15. Great interview thank you so much. I unfortunatly havent read any of your books but I keep eye balling them on the internet and would love to be ableto jump into one

Leave a Reply

