• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please Welcome – Amy Knupp

Amy, Thanks for agreeing to be a guest on my blog.  Thanks for having me, Greta!

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?  I’m married with two energetic little boys and four lazy cats.  We live in Kansas, though I long to live by the beach.  I started writing about 7 years ago when Maya Banks challenged me to pursue my dream of getting published…never mind that my younger son was 2 months old and eating every hour!  I sold my first book in 2005 and my fourth book is due in stores in January (and available right now on eharlequin.com.)  I like kickboxing, reading, buying books, watching Jayhawk basketball and traveling.

How long have you been writing?  Oops, I answered this above…7 years.  It took me almost 4 years to sell my first book (if my math is right.)

What is your writing process like? I don’t like my process and I’m still learning it because it seems to vary with every book.  I used to want to be a plotter and know every detail of what would happen, so that when I sat down to write, I could enjoy the art of putting words on paper and not worry about getting the story “right.”  But, well, that didn’t work so well because no matter how carefully I planned, I always veered from the plan.  I’m not one who can fly off into the mist without any planning, so I’m kind of a middle-of-the-road girl.  I like to know very general ideas about where the story’s going, but I don’t want too many details because they will change anyway.  

The Secret She Kept

The Secret She Kept

Can you tell us a little bit about your upcoming release The Secret She Kept?  The Secret She Kept is the 3rd Salinger Sister book, but if you haven’t read the first two, you can still enjoy this one.  The books have some characters in common (the Salinger Sisters, obviously) but each tells its own story.  This one is about Savannah Salinger and Jake Barnes.  Savannah has a secret she’s never told anyone except her ex-husband, and when Jake comes back to town after years away, the secret will come out.  You can read the official blurb on my site:  http://www.amyknupp.com and there’s also an excerpt there if you’re interested.
Where do you get your ideas for your books?  I mostly get ideas for characters and then have to build a plot around my people.  I’m fascinated by psychology and sometimes when I meet someone, or even just see someone who interests me, I like to imagine, what makes that person that way?  What would he or she do if thrown into X situation?  That gets my brain going…most times. J

Other than contemporary, do you write in any other romance sub-genre? If not would you like to and if so what sub-genres?  I’m currently working on a young adult book that I would love to sell, but it’s slow going since I have to put my Superromances first.  Beyond that, I’d love to try other sub-genres…like paranormal and maybe single title contemporary.  I’d also like to write women’s fiction.  I just need about 20 more hours in every day.

Do your characters talk to you?  They don’t really talk TO me, but they definitely talk FOR me.  I often “hear” their conversations in my head, usually when I’m trying to sleep. So then I have to jump up and scribble their words down before I lose them.

(If so who talks more your heroes or heroines?) It’s pretty much an equal thing, since they are conversations and not necessarily addressing themselves to me.  It would be very thoughtful of them if they’d talk directly to me when I ask.

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?  I’m a book hoarder but a slow reader.  I love Suzanne Brockmann, Susan Wiggs, Terry McLaughlin, Lani Diane Rich, Ally Carter, Jan Kenny, Larissa Ione (and the other Writeminded girls, of course…Maya Banks, Jaci Burton and Stephanie Tyler), Sarah Dessen, Kay Stockham, many other Superromance authors, and…ack.  So many more and I know I’m forgetting many. 

What books are on your keep shelf?  Many of the above authors.  I actually try not to keep too many books because I never reread and I like to spread books.  So after holding on to them for a couple of years, I decide, time to let someone else enjoy them, and I either give them to friends or to the library.  However, I keep a copy of all my personal friends’ books.  Yes, my shelves are overflowing, between friends and a huge TBR pile!  (This is a good thing though…books make me happy.) J

Do you read books other than romance books?  I read a lot of young adult novels, whether romance or not…also women’s fiction and very limited fantasy that my hubby recommends.  Some mainstream fiction and a literary book here and there but usually because I know the author.  I also have a thing for non-fiction military books.

What was the first romance book you read?  I have no idea, unless you count Forever by Judy Blume.  It’s been too long! 

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters? I’m so bad at this question because I don’t keep up on actors and actresses very well, but I racked my brain.  I’d like to see my first book, Unexpected Complication, be made into a movie, just because I thought of celebrities who could play my characters. *g*  I would want the woman who plays Niki on Heroes to play Carey Langford, and Keith Urban would do well as my hero, even if he isn’t an actor. 

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?  Hmm, I think it would be Katie Salinger from Doctor in Her House.  She’s the most opposite of me in that she’s a daredevil and does all kinds of exciting things.  I’m very much a non-risk-taker, so it would be cool to try out her ways for a while. 

What are you currently working on?  I’m working on books one and two of my firefighter trilogy for Superromance.  The first book will be a best friends-to-lovers story between a firefighter who’s going through some rough times and the girl he grew up with.  The second is a pregnancy story (though not a secret baby) between a firefighter and an East Coast society girl.  I haven’t started the third book yet but it will be a romance between a firefighter and a biker chick.  All three will likely be released sometime in 2010.

When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time?  I take a kickboxing class that I love, I spend a lot of time with my family, and I like video games and KU basketball.

If you could ask readers anyone question, what would it be?  What makes you pick up a book by a new-to-you author?

Thanks a bunch, Greta.  This has been fun! J

***Leave a comment for an autographed book from Amy, winners choice from her backlist***

14 Responses

  1. Hi Amy!

    Great to see you here. Wonderful interview. I am so looking forward to reading, “The Secret She Kept”.

    What attracts me to a “new to me author”, is certainly the synopsis of the book. I also usually take a peek at various reviews and comments from fellow readers. Excerpts really help too, because they do give you an idea of the author’s style and the tone of the book.

    Best Regards Amy, good luck with “The Secret She Kept”! 🙂

  2. Hi Amy, and Greta!!!
    Great interview and post!!!

    And what makes me buy a book? A combination of things. Could be the cover, could be others telling me about it, could be the blurb, could be I read the first page and didn’t want to stop, could be from an author who’s an auto-buy, could be I read an excerpt and wanted to read the whole story, or I could just buy it for the title(which yes I’ve done). So I’m one those who does a lot of impulse buying.

    hugs,
    WendyK

  3. The new series your working on sounds great. I’ve always enjoyed a good firefighter story. You are a new author to me so its was nice to meet you and I’ll definitely be checking you out.

    Thanks for the interview Greta and Amy.

  4. Hi Amy and Greta!!

    Congrats on Release Day Amy!! Great interview!!

    What makes you pick up a book by a new-to-you author? Lot’s of things, it can be covers but honestly I think hearing from others about what they like to read usually gets me every single time!! Thankfully we have an amazing readers group……yay……and I love that there is such a wide range of reading styles and everyone shares and I find new authors and new books almost daily!!

  5. Great interview. 🙂 What makes me choose a new author is if the book blurb sounds good, and if I have heard positive buzz about the author’s writing

  6. Hi Amy,

    I really enjoyed reading your interview. Book blurbs and excerpts usually determine whether or not I try a new to me author. Although, a pretty cover can initially draw my curiosity to read the blurb and excerpt. Reviews only matter to me if the review is coming from someone I trust and know has the same taste in books as I do.

    Congrats on the release of The Secret She Kept!

  7. Hi Amy and Greta,

    Great interview and Congrats on your new release, Amy. I love finding new authors. I always read a blurb and an excerpt of their work before I buy a book, just so I know that I will like their style of writing.

    Happy Holidays!

  8. Great Interview! I always enjoy reading about how writers process their stories. I can’t wait to read The Secret She Kept and of course those firefighters we have to wait for 🙂

  9. I’m always looking for new authors to read so covers and back covers that sound interesting to me usually capture my eye. Good luck on your release!

  10. the cover of the book usually catches my eye first… then i read the back blurb and if i like it then i buy it… it doesn’t take much for me to get interested in new authors 😀

  11. I loved reading the interview. So much fun learning more about you, Amy. 🙂

    congrats on your latest release. 🙂

  12. What a great interview. The book sounds fantastic.

  13. hello, this was an awesome interview and your book sounds really interesting. thank you. So are you up and ready for the holidays? IM NOT LOL

  14. Ack, I’m so sorry I didn’t make it here yesterday to reply to you all sooner! (long story that I won’t bother you with but the day was from hell, from start to finish.)

    Thanks so much for your interest in my book and for your congrats, everyone!

    And Greta, thanks again for having me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

