• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Please Welcome Cynthia Eden

I am so excited to have my first guest author today. Please welcome Cynthia Eden, who graciously agreed to doing an interview with me.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Sure, but first—thank you so much for inviting me to your blog, Greta!  J 

Hi, everyone!  I’m Cynthia, and I write paranormals. And I write them, because, well, I love them. Love vampires and shifters and demons…oh, my.  LOL. 

How long have you been writing? 

Hmmm…I’ve written as long as pretty much can remember, and I completed my first manuscript when I was 18 (a long, long time ago…), but for the last five years, I would say that I have been really buckling down and focusing on my craft. 

What is your writing process like?   

I write 10 pages a day, pretty much everyday when I am working on a manuscript. I go through the first draft in about 40-45 days (no weekend breaks), and then, when I’d finished with that draft, I let the story sit for about a week. I like that “sitting” time because it allows me to get some distance from the story so that when I go back for my editing, I can look at the writing with a more critical eye.  I generally do one long, editing/revising check which lasts about two weeks. 

Midnight Sins

Midnight Sins

 Can you tell us a little bit about your upcoming release – Midnight Sins?

 MIDNIGHT SINS is the second book in my “Midnight” trilogy (HOTTER AFTER MIDNIGHT was the first releases.)  The hero in MIDNIGHT SINS is Detective Todd Brooks (Colin’s partner) and his heroine, well, she’s a succubus.  I think of this story as Basic Instinct meets The X-Files. 

Where did you get the concept or idea for this book?

The hero and heroine for this book were both introduced in HOTTER AFTER MIDNIGHT.  Cara, the heroine, was the succubus who wanted love, not sex (she was one of Dr. Emily Drake’s paranormal patients).  And, meanwhile, Todd was the unsuspecting human—the guy who didn’t know about all the supernatural beings in the world around him. I really wanted to pair Todd up with one of the Other and Cara seemed perfect for him. So, I started this book with the characters, and the plot developed from their interactions.   

Hotter After Midnight
Hotter After Midnight

Midnight Sins is the sequel to Hotter After Midnight, will there be anymore books in this series?

 Yes—one more.  J 

In July of 09, MIDNIGHT’S MASTER will hit the bookshelves.  That book—well, it’s my demon Niol’s story.  Niol also plays a very important role in MIDNIGHT SINS.  I won’t tell you exactly what he does, don’t want to be spoilerish, but the story wouldn’t be the same without him!

Other than paranormal, do you write in any other romance sub-genre? If not would you like to and if so what sub-genres? 

Oh, good question! I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately, and I’d enjoy also writing romantic suspense stories.  I’ve had so much fun with the suspense elements in my paranormals that I think I’d like to try straight RS. I’d also be open to writing paranormal YA.  Over the holidays, I might try writing one, just for fun. 

Do your characters talk to you?            Yes!!

(If so who talks more your heroes or heroines?)

Well, that depends on the story.  For my March 09 release, IMMORTAL DANGER, my heroine Maya talked to me—and she talked loudly. All the time. 

But, when I was writing the first book in my paranormal bounty hunter series (still untitled, sorry!), Jude (the white tiger shifter hero) talked to me more.  He stayed in my head to the extent that I would literally tell my husband, “You know, Jude would never do that…” Or “Jude would say…”  At one point, the hubby told me, “You know he’s not real, right?”  I just gave him THE STARE in reply. 

As an author, you must be an avid reader. What books do you enjoy reading? Who are your auto-buy authors?

I do so enjoy reading. I love paranormals (of course!) and funny contemporaries. My auto-buys?  Christine Feehan, Larissa Ione, Angela Knight, Alyssa Day, Lora Leigh, Jayne Ann Krentz, Linda Howard…oh, I don’t think I have enough space to write them all.  I have way, way too many favorites!

 What books are on your keep shelf? 

I have piles and piles of keeper books.  I’ve got books that are old and yellow from the 80s (the old Jayne Castle Guinevere Jones books), and I’ve got new books like Lora Leigh’s MERCURY’S WAR.

Do you read books other than romance books?

Sometimes I read horror novels, but I really like my happy endings, so romances are my primary books. 

What was the first romance book you read?

THE ASKING PRICE by Amanda Browning. It was a Harlequin Romance. After that—I was addicted to romance novels.   

If one of your books was made into a movie, which book would you like it to be and which actors would like to see as the lead characters?   

I’d love to see HOTTER AFTER MIDNIGHT made into a movie. (A girl can so dream.)  But, honestly, I have no ideas about the actors.  Maybe Kate Beckinsale as Emily Drake and Gerard Butler as Colin.  Hey—if I’m dreaming, I’ll dream big!

If you could switch lives with one of your characters who would if be & why?

Oh, I don’t know if I’d want to switch lives with them. They have a lot of drama going on—I like my easy, quiet life better, I think.

Immortal Danger
Immortal Danger

What will be your next release after Midnight Sins?

IMMORTAL DANGER will release on March 31, 2009. It’s set in the same world as my Midnight books, but none of the Midnight characters appear in this book. My heroine is a vampire and my hero is a dragon shifter.  This book has a strong urban fantasy feel—or, at least, I think it does. 

What are you currently working on?

My second paranormal bounty hunter book.  My heroine has just been attacked by an Ignitor (like Drew Barrymore in the Firestarter movie).  Trying to put out the flames now…

 When you are not writing or reading, what do you enjoying doing in your spare time? 

I go to the movies—a lot. I love the escaping into a good movie (just like I enjoy escaping into a good book).

 Thank you for taking the time to interview me!  I had a great time responding to these questions.  

***Leave a comment for a chance to win an autographed copy of Midnight Sins from Cynthia***

Winner will be announced tomorrow!

62 Responses

  1. Fantastic interview! And I just love the cover for Immortal Danger:)

  2. Great interview,& Cynthia please keep the Paranormals coming,I love them.
    Cindy

  3. Great interview! Cynthia is one of my favorite paranormal authors and I love hearing about the characters from the writers pov.

  4. Basic Instinct meets the X-Files…love it! I can’t wait to read your books. I love finding new paranormals to get my greedy hands on.

  5. Excellent interview! Paranormal romance is my favorite subgenre and your stories sound wonderful Cynthia. I didn’t realize there was a pre-equal to “Midnight Sins”, so I will definitely be adding “Hotter After Midnight”, to my Wish List.

    “Immortal Danger”, sounds great , you have created very unique characters.

    Very Best Regards
    Lea

  6. Great interview. I haven’t read Cynthia but am truly interested now. Now I”m off to check her out. Thanks.

  7. Great interview!! Love your books, Cynthia!

  8. Thank you Greta for having Cynthia on. I really enjoyed the interview! I haven’t read anything from Cynthia, but I am sure going to start now. Can’t wait!

  9. Greta:

    What a wonderful job! I loved the questions you asked and really allowed us to get to know Cynthia and her work. These titles look yummy!

  10. Hi, Greta! Thank you for interviewing me! I loved your questions. 🙂

    Hey, Melissa! Thank you! Of all my covers, that one is my favorite.

    Thank you, Rhonda! You just made me smile such a huge smile (especially for this early in the morning!). Glad you like hearing about the characters, too!

    Dawn, I hope you enjoy my books. I love finding new authors, too–my husband says he can always tell when I’ve found one I like…um, I tend to start ignoring him when he talks because I am so into the new book I’m reading.

    Hi, Lea! Thanks so much for your comments. Yep, Hotter After Midnight is the first book in my Midnight world, and I would recommend reading it first–though the titles can stand alone, there is spoiler info about Hotter After Midnight in Midnight Sins. Poor Todd–his life gets changed because of the events in Hotter After Midnight.

    Brandy, I think Greta is great at interviews! Glad you enjoyed reading the info. 🙂

    Hi, Cathryn! Right back at you–I love your stories, too!

    Jofriendtoo–if you read one of my books, please let me know what you think. And thanks for checking out the interview!

  11. Great, great, great interview!!!! Way to go Greta and Cynthia!

    Hi Cynthia, I can’t wait to read these.

    I have a question, how do you balance life, ie family friends with writing?

    hugs,
    WendyK

  12. Hi Greta and Cynthia!!

    Fantastic interview!! I love your books too Cynthia…….can’t wait for all the new books to out!!! 🙂

  13. Good morning, Greta and Cynthia!

    Congrats on your first author interview, Greta, I know how nerve racking and awesome it feels–often at the same time!

    Cynthia, best of luck with Midnight Sins!

  14. Yes I see the question on balancing life and family that has to be hard being a writter! your interview is great by the way! loved it. came over to just say hi!!! and wave madly

  15. Hi girls!
    Great interview. I must admit I haven’t read these yet, but the covers are amazing – I’d buy them on that alone.
    Laurie K

  16. I’ve read alot of Cynthia’s books and really enjoy them! I’m looking forward to her latest release.

  17. Hi, Wendy! Ah, balancing life. Well, right now, my schedule is pretty good. I have a son (he’s two) and when he naps, I sit at the computer and write as much as I can. Some days I get lucky and manage to get my 10 pages all during nap time. Score. Other days…not so lucky. I do a lot of late night writing so that I can spend time with my family and friends.

    When I first started writing, I was working full-time, so I got used to working late with my books. Then, when I had my son, I got used to going without a lot of sleep. So my late night writing just kind of evolved as a result. LOL.

    Hi, Blanche! Thank you very much!!!

    Morning, Azteclady! I think Greta is an interview pro already. 🙂 And thanks for the luck wishes!

    Hi, Tina! I think the secret in that balance is finding a schedule that works–and sticking with it. Different writers can manage differently daily outputs. I think it’s all about finding a manageable output. Hmmm…easy to say!

    Hey, Laurie! Glad you like the interview (Greta, you’re awesome!) and the covers. I’m always curious about what the covers will look like–and, so far, I’ve certainly not been disappointed by my Kensington covers.

    Thanks for all the comments!

  18. Ro, I’m sorry–I meant to respond to your comment in that last section! I loved Greta’s questions, too–she made me think about my characters and my stories.

  19. Terrific interview! I’ve had MIDNIGHT SINS on pre-order for a few weeks already. Can’t wait to get it!

  20. This is a great interview, I loved Greta’s questions and I loved all your answers. I have to admit that I am a big fan of your books. 🙂

  21. Great interview. I love the cover to Immortal Danger.

  22. Great job with your 1st interview Greta!
    And Cynthia, I loved Cara’s character in Hotter After Midnight, I was so happy to find out she was the heroine in Midnight Sins and can’t wait to see where her story goes. Does Emily make another appearance in this one? I imagine there will be some doctor/patient confidentiality conflict with Emily and Colin if Cara is a murder suspect, LOL

  23. Hi, Cynthia!!
    Great interview questions, Greta 🙂
    OMG, I’m so excited that Immortal Danger releases the day before my birthday! Whoo-hoo! Fantastic cover *bg*

  24. HI Cynthia,
    Great interview! And wonderful job on your first interview, Greta! 🙂

    LOL on your husband looking at you and asking if you know your characters aren’t real.

    And I know just what you mean about preferring your own sane life to the drama of your characters. 🙂 I remember a scene in Lord of the Rings, where Samwise says to Frodo that the lives that make for the best stories are not really the ones we like to live. Even at 10, when I first read it, that struck me.
    🙂

    Congrats on your successes so far, and here’s to many more!
    Kris

  25. Morning Greta and Cynthia

    Greta, I think you did a fantastic job with your first author interview, great questions. I wouldn’t have guessed this was your first time in doing one, if you hadn’t said so.

    Cynthia, I love your responses to Greta’s questions. I learned something about a new to me author. I must confess, I haven’t read any of your books but now that I have read this interview, I am going to go out and find them.

  26. Hey Greta and Cynthia! Just dropping by to say hello. Greta, you did a great job on your first author interview! And you couldn’t have chosen a better author than Cynthia Eden. What an awesome talent! 🙂

  27. Cynthia,
    You will be a new author for me. I can’t wait to try out this midnight series, but what really caught my eye was the mention of a dragon. I REALLY have a thing for them.

    Great interview questions, Greta. Knew it would be good before I even got here.

    The best to both of you,

    Crystal Dee

  28. I like dragon shifters, looking forward to that one, and, of course, Midnight Sins. I’ve been enjoying your books since I first read one of your Secret stories, Cynthia. I do love paranormals, but think you’d be good at RS, also, go for it.

  29. Great interview, Greta! Hiya Cynthia! 🙂

  30. What a great interview Greta! 🙂

  31. Great interview Greta!

    Cynthia, I’ll have to read one of your books soon!

  32. I enjoyed the interview. Good Luck with your books, Cynthia, they sound awesome!

  33. Welcome!!!! You are new to me, but this whole genre is new to me. I really look forward to digging into your books and escaping into the worlds you have created. I have loved paranormals ever since I reay Larissa Ione and Lynn Veihl so I really look forward to adding you to my favorite authors list!!!! Again, welcome!

  34. Great interview! Immortal Danger…well, wow! New addition for my Hot TBR list.

  35. Hi, Edie! I hope you like the book! 🙂 I just got an email saying that B&N was shipping the book…

    Renee, I loved Greta’s questions, too! And I’m so glad to hear you enjoy my books. Thank you!

    Thanks, Crystal! I love that one, too! Can’t wait to get it blown up and put it on my wall–and, yep, I am so totally going to do that.

    Cheryl, I think you’ve read my mind! Yes, Emily and Colin are definitely in this book, and there is a patient confidentiality issue that arises…(And I’m glad you liked Cara!)

    Hey, Ali! Right before your birthday? You know…I think that book would make a great birthday present! 🙂

    Hi, Kris! Thank you! That’s a great line from Lord of the Rings–I’ll have to remember that one! It definitely describes the way I think about my stories vs. my life. I tend to like things nice and easy in reality. And as for my heroes, I’m really a beta girl. LOL.

  36. Hi Cynthia, really great interview. Hotter
    After Midnight was one of my favorite reads and I am really enjoying this series.

  37. Marcia, I wouldn’t have guessed this was Greta’s first time, either–the woman seems like a total pro! And if you try one of my books, definitely let me know what you think!

    Hi, Mad! Thanks for checking out the interview!

    Jambrea, Greta’s got great interview skills. 🙂

    Hey, Kris! I’m always happy to be added to someone’s reading list.

    Thank you, Sasha!!

    Hi, Kristin! Oh, I love paranormals! Larissa is one of my favorites, too–can’t wait to read more about her Demon ER. And I’ve heard great things about Lynn’s books!

    MsValerie, Immortal Danger is one of my favorite stories–I’d always wanted to write a dragon story, and, well, that book finally gave me the chance I needed.

  38. Hi, Jaci! Thank you for stopping by–and, aw, lady, thank you so for saying such nice things. 🙂 VERY big compliment!

    Crystal, when it comes to dragons, I’m with you! I found out when I was a kid that I was born in the Chinese year of the dragon–and I was addicted to dragons from that moment on!

    Pam, thanks for the encouragement–straight RS is definitely something I’d like to try.

    And I apologize for responding to these 3 comments out of order–I had a crazy moment!!

  39. Hey everyone thanks for commenting. I’ve been at work all morning and have been approving first time comments from work.

    I’m home the rest of the afternoon so hopefully, I can approve any new comments a little quicker.

  40. Fabulous inteview!! I am looking forward to the upcoming books!

  41. Cynthia, that was a fantastic interview. Hotter After Midnight is an outstanding book. I can’t wait to get my hands on Midnight Sins! Oh, would you mind pushing up the release date for Midnight’s Master? 🙂

    I think you could write a great romantic suspense book. I know that I would be interested.

  42. Hotter After Midnight was great! I can’t wait to read Todd’s reaction when he learns about the Others!

  43. Hi, Jennifer! Thank you!

    Hey, Susan! Greta gets all the credit on the interview–she made it so easy for me. Loved her questions! And if I had the power to push up Midnight’s Master, I would totally do it. But, I will be able to give out some ARCs a few months before the release, so stay tuned for that!

    LOL, bookmom, thank you! Poor Todd.

  44. Hi, Cathy! I am so happy you’re enjoying the series! Thank you!

  45. This is a great interview! I enjoyed reading it very much! I look forward to reading your books Cynthia! You’re a new author to me so I haven’t purchased any of your books yet but I pretty much have all of your books (current and future releases) on my wishlist! 😀

  46. Great interview! I loved Hotter After Midnight and can’t wait to read Midnight Sins. I’m a huge fan of Cynthia’s work!

  47. Your interview was great. I love hearing about the people in the books and how they get together in your mind as you are writing about them.
    Debby

  48. Hi, Danielle! I love being on a wishlist! 🙂

    Thank you, Lisa! I’m glad you enjoyed Hotter After Midnight!

    Debby, that process is always fun. And sometimes, a little wild.

  49. I’m scrolling back through and trying to make sure that I didn’t miss any comments…

    Teresa, I think I might have been responding to a comment when you were typing yours! I just wanted to say thank you and that it’s so nice to hear you enjoy my books!

  50. Hey Cindy, Great interview.

    Hotter After Midnight is one of my favorite books.

    Nice job, Greta! 😀

  51. I’m going to have to check these out now!

  52. Great iverview. Great covers too.

  53. great interview and cynthia is one of my all time favorite authors.

  54. Hi Cynthia and Greta. Great interview! I like to learn more about the writers that I enjoy.

  55. Thanks, Zoe! And Greta just rocks. 🙂

    Hi, Miranda!

    Hi, Annette–glad you liked the interview (Greta’s magic skills) and the covers!

    Aw, thank you very, very much Pamk!

    Hello, Stacie! The interview was so much fun!

    Greta–I’ve had such a great time hanging out at your blog today! You are a most excellent hostess!

  56. I’m over from Cynthia’s blog. Nice interview…great job, Greta. Cynthia, Gerard Butler is my choice for Colin, too.

  57. Great interview! Midnight Sins sounds great!

  58. Great interview Cynthia! I also love going to the movies and I find that they are a great escape when I am in the need of one.

    I love your covers!!

  59. Hi, Janet! Don’t you just love Gerard?

    Thanks, Amy!!

    I’m about to turn in for the night–Greta, it was a pleasure. Thank you so much for interviewing me.

  60. Great interview. Loved it.

    Enter me please!

    gautami.tripathy[at]gmail.com

  61. That was a great interview! I’m really looking forward to reading more by Cynthia.

  62. Hi Cynthia! Popping in a little late — I’ve had a three day migraine that has kicked my butt!

    But wanted to stop by and say hi, and congratulate Greta on a great first interview! 🙂

    Hugs to you both!

Leave a Reply

