• Banner designed by the talented Valerie Tibbs. You can see her other work at http://tibbsdesign.com.
  • Contact Information:

    For questions or concerns please contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces). Please include the phrase "your blog" in the subject heading.
  • Attention Authors

    If you are an author and interested in doing a guest interview or commentary, please feel free to contact me at gw12cats03 @ charter.net (without the spaces) or Lillie at lillie80 @ gmail.com (without the spaces). Please include "author interview" in the subject heading.
  • Comments

    All first time comments must be approved prior to being posted. If you have previously had a comment approved, your new comments will appear right away.
  • Greta’s Currently Reading

    A Touch of Scandal

    Jennifer Haymore

    Bound, Branded & Brazen

    Jaci Burton

  • Lillie’s Currently Reading

    Moon Sworn

    by Keri Arthur

  • Wanting Now

    Scent of Persuasion

    May 4

    Nikki Duncan

    Wastland: the Wanderer

    May 4

    Crystal Jordan

    Wasteland: the Whore

    May 11

    Lilli Feisty

    Wasteland: the Breeder

    May 18

    Eden Bradley

    Wasteland: the Priestess

    May 25

    R.G. Alexander

    Body Rush

    May 25

    Anne Rainey

    The Darkest Passion

    May 25

    Gena Showalter

    Never Too Hot

    May 25

    Bell Andre

  • Pages

Q&A with Mandy M. Roth

Hi Mandy! Thank you for joining us today.

Thanks for having me. I ‘m excited to be here.

Can you tell everyone a little bit about yourself?

Sure thing. I’m a multi-published, award winning (saying out loud always makes me giggle), bestselling (yeah, that one makes me snicker too) author of paranormal romance. I still, even after six years as a professional author, look behind me when someone mentions author. This still doesn’t feel like a job to me and I love every second of it.

What made you decide to do a book about Valkyries?

I’ve had a fascination with mythology from a very early age. Doesn’t matter what type of mythology, I enjoy it and love learning about it. The draw to Norse Mythology and Valkyries in particular came from all they’re rumored to be able to do. They hold men’s lives in their hands. That is awesome power—to pick and choose. And there is something about having it involve warriors that really speaks to me. They’re like angels of death in a sense. I cringe whenever I read about them serving Odin and mortal men like handmaidens so I did tweak anything to do with that portion of the later myths. I like my heroines to be kick ass and able to find love.

For me, the chance to explore Valhalla and the Valkyrie, through the eyes of a misfit one, was just too tempting to resist.

Do you plan to have more books involving Norse Mythology?

At this time, I don’t have anything on the burner aside from continuing the Valkyrie series. It’s a three-book arc and from there, several books following new heroines are already written. These continue my spin on the Valkyrie mythology.

Can you tell us about your latest release, Point of No Return?

This is a futuristic paranormal. I set up the world to be one where supernaturals are a known threat, though, Earth firmly believes it ended all risk to itself hundreds of years ago when it packed up several large spacecrafts will all the supernaturals and sent them to uninhabited planets. Problem is, only one shuttle stayed on course. The rest crashed on other planets. Fast forward hundreds of years. These planets where the shuttles crashed are living with the aftereffects and it’s not always a good thing. Then again, some of them are hiding secrets they wouldn’t want the Commission finding about either. I mean, doesn’t everyone have a few surprises in their blood lines?

This is book three in the Project Exorcism series and its Jordan and Nina’s story. They’re two hot-headed lead characters who have just as much of a chance of igniting their tempers as they do heating up the sheets.

If you could switch lives with one of your characters, who would it be & why?

Valerie, from The Valkyrie. She’s a modern day girl with the power to jump to any point in history. She can see everything as it’s unfolding. I would love to be like a fly on the wall and witness so many of history’s great moments.

If you could ask readers any question, what would it be?

To borrow from you, if you could switch lives with any one of my characters, who would it be and why?

Where can readers find you on the internet?
www.mandyroth.com
www.ravenhappyhour.com
@mandymroth (twitter)
Links to my facebooks and myspace pages can be found by accessing my website, as well as buy links to my publishers

Thanks for having me!

***Mandy will be giving away a PDF download of The Valkyrie to one lucky commenter. Good luck! :D

19 Responses

  1. “I cringe whenever I read about them serving Odin and mortal men like handmaidens so I did tweak anything to do with that portion of the later myths. ”

    I love this so much! Great interview!

  2. I don’t think I’d like to change places with any character because then the dynamic which makes me like the story would be skewed. However, I wouldn’t mind trading places with Madelyn from The Guardians for a couple of hours with Brady.

  3. Great interview. I love reading stories that give us a different take on an old myth. And I love futuristic too. Have to put the Project Exorcism series onto the wish list.

  4. I haven’t read any of your books yet, but they sound really interesting. I don’t know who I would be because of that. You will definitely be added to my TBR pile.

  5. love every book i’ve read by both of you. Don’t think you’ve wrote a bad one. congrats on your latest release.
    please enter me in thie contest.

  6. Valerie sounds like a fun gal to swap places with for a bit, although I’m sure I’d wreak havoc on the timeline of the world.

    Great interview!

  7. Heck I would not mind changing places with any Valkyrie. Heheh, it’s been about ten or so years since I studied up on them (friend inspired a role playing rogue Valkyrie ten years past; she as badass).

    I’ve never read any of your books but well Valkyries really caught my attention. Why I like Kresley Cole’s Immortals After Dark because fo the entire Valkyrie theme…

    Valkyries and Druids really capture me.

  8. It’s been a while since I’ve read any of your books so I’m not sure which one I would like to trade places with. I really enjoyed the books that I read though.

  9. I’m not sure who I would want to trade places with either. Tough question. Congrats on your release.

  10. Lindsey from Loup Garou!! The whole idea of falling in love with your best guy friend and him falling in love back is wonderful in itself but also the fact that she has that power locked inside of her and she is still a strong women. I am woman hear me roar lol

  11. I pick Missy Carter, because she had a cool job and a yummy hero.

  12. I enjoy Mandys books becuase there is always a girl with gumption….(does anyone still use that word lol) it just fits though.

  13. Great interview. I would want to switch places with Valerie. I think it would be cool to visit other places and times.

  14. Oooh I think i would like to switch with any Valkyrie!

  15. I’ve never read any of your books, but have at least one in my lengthy TBR list.

  16. Fantastic plot idea –using the Norse Mythology, Mandy! Im going to have to add your books to my TBB pile!

    Wishing you great sales!

    hugs, Kari Thomas, http://www.authorkari.com

  17. Hi Mandy, I really like the idea of using the Norse Mythology for a book. I think it will really be a great book.

    Hope you have great luck with you sales

    Hugs
    Julie
    jellybelly82158@gmail.com

  18. Without having read the Valkyrie yet I’d say Valerie. It would be awesome to be at the point of everything historical event in time. Enjoyed the post and look forward to reading The Valkyrie
    Carol L.
    Lucky4750@aol.com

  19. Thanks everyone for stopping past and for sharing with me who you would trade places with!!!! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

